Skip to Main Content

Linguistics Resources: Home

Getting oriented

Oxford Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies -- Linguistics

Annotated bibliographies on over 280 topics in linguistics, from branches of linguistics, to concepts, grammatical features, and language families. This is how you would discover foundational works and theoretical perspectives as well as a variety of impactful publications on a particular subject.

Finding scholarly articles

CORE logo

CORE

Excellent aggregator of scholarly open access content.


Google Scholar logo

Google Scholar

Self-explanatory, but configure link to UNC Libraries collections to avoid paywall.


LLBA logo

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Sold by ProQuest, University Libraries pays for subscription.


PsycInfo logo

PsycInfo

American Psychological Association database, sold by EBSCO, University Libraries pays for subscription. Not a linguistics databasse, but has excellent psycholinguistics content.


Semantic Scholar logo

Semantic Scholar

Another excellent aggregator of open access scholarly content.


CMMC logo

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Sold by EBSCO, University Libraries pays for subscription. Not a linguistics database, but a lot of linguistics content, particularly in applied linguistics.


Microsoft Academic logo

Microsoft Academic

Microsoft's aggregator of scholarly open access content.

Resources on the World's Languages

Glottlog logo

Glottolog

Glottolog provides a comprehensive catalogue of the world's languages, language families and dialects. The References section provides a comprehensive collection of bibliographical data for the world's lesser known languages. This is where I look to see if a grammar or any kind of description of a particular language exists.


OLAC Language Resource Catalog

OLAC Language Resource Catalog

Catalog of world's languages with details about text collections, audio recordings, dictionaries, and software, sourced from dozens of digital and traditional archives. Overlaps with, but also complements Glottolog.


World Atlas of Language Structures Online

WALS (World Atlas of Language Structures Online) 

WALS) is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of 55 authors and edited by Matthew S. Dryer and Martin Haspelmath. The Library also has 2005 print version.


Atlas of Pidgin and Creole Language Structures Online

The Atlas of Pidgin and Creole Language Structures (APiCS)

APiCS provides expert-based information on 130 grammatical and lexical features of 76 pidgin and creole languages from around the world. It was edited by Susanne Maria Michaelis, Philippe Maurer, Martin Haspelmath, and Magnus Huber. The Library has the 2013 print version and the accompanying Survey of Pidgin and Creole Languages.

Linguistic Corpora Available through University Libraries

University Libraries has purchased data files for the following corpora (formerly known as BYU Corpora). Each corpus also comes with a limited-functionality public interface appropriate for small-scale projects, class demos, and casual browsing. The files come in three formats: database, word/lemma/Pos, and linear text. Onyen authentication is required for download.


Corpus del Español

Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA)

Corpus of Historical American English (COHA)

The Movie Corpus

News on the Web Corpus (NOW)

Corpus of American Soap Operas (SOAP Corpus)

TV Corpus

Wikipedia Corpus

Corpus of Global Web-Based English (GloWbE)

iWeb Corpus

A note on the Linguistics Data Consortium

In 2017-2018, University Libraries attempted to get campus-wide access to the Linguistics Data Consortium catalog. However, the year-long license negotiations have failed, so unfortunately, we will not be able to provide you access to this data. If you need LDC datasets, please contact your department. Departments may be able to procure specific datasets for limited use, since they do not need to provide access for the whole campus.

Kirill Tolpygo | Кирилл Толпыго

Profile Photo
Kirill Tolpygo
he / him / his
Contact:
118 Davis Library, CB#3918
(919) 962-8044
  • Last Updated: Oct 8, 2021 9:14 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/linguisticsresearch