MACRA and MIPS Information

Information about the new Medicare payment law going into effect January 2017.


What is MACRA?
MACRA is the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act, federal legislation passed in 2015 to change the way Medicare pays healthcare professionals.

Why is MACRA being implemented?
MACRA's goal is to change the way the US pays for healthcare. Currently, healthcare providers are paid based on the number of services they perform. MACRA will shift the US healthcare system to a model where healthcare professionals are paid based on the quality of care they provide.

What are are the types of payment models in MACRA?
MACRA has two types of value-based payment models: the Alternative Payment Models (APMs) and the Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS). Starting in 2017, healthcare providers will need to participate in one of these two types of models in order to receive Medicare payments.

Where do I start?

This guide was last updated: January 22, 2018