Micromedex Alternatives: Micromedex Subscription Changes and Coverage
Micromedex: Before and After
UNC Health Care’s subscription to Micromedex will change at the end of September, 2014. While many parts of the database and the mobile applications will still be available to students, faculty, library users, and UNC Health Care employees, a few sections will be replaced by other library resources. Access to the following databases and mobile apps will continue, unchanged:
- DRUGDEX® System – Peer-reviewed, evidence-based drug information including investigational and nonprescription drugs
- POISINDEX® System – Ingredient information for commercial, pharmaceutical, and biological substances with treatment protocols
- REPRORISK® System – In-depth reproductive risk information on drugs, chemicals, and environmental agents
- Drug Essentials Mobile App – Package inserts, off-label indications, dosing recommendations, therapeutic class, administration, monitoring, toxicology, clinical teaching, and more
The following sections of the database will be replaced by other resources that are available to UNC affiliates or to the general public, or will remain available for an additional fee per user:
|Micromedex Sections through Sept 29, 2014||Where to Go After Sept 29, 2014|
|Interaction Checking - Interactive drug interactions tool to help you check interacting drug ingredients, their effects, and clinical significance||Facts & Comparisons Drug Interactions - drug interactions tool to help you check interacting drug ingredients, allergies, precautions and contraindications.
Interaction Analysis via UpToDate - UpToDate provides access to the Lexi-Comp Online™ individual drug and drug-drug interaction checker with risk ratings; available through the "Drug Interactions" link at the top of the UpToDate homepage
|Drug Interactions Mobile App - Potentially harmful drug interactions, prevention and management of clinical manifestations, probability of an interaction, and the potential timeframe, and documentation ratings that provide insight into the level of evidence supporting each recommendation||Available for purchase; $2.99/year for iPhone/iPad; $9.99/year for Android
Epocrates Mobile App - drug-drug interaction checker only
Medscape Mobile App - drug-drug interaction checker only
|Imprint codes in Identidex® – Enter full imprints with spaces (BMS 500), partial imprint (BMS), description of a non-text imprint (heart) or (logo) for other shapes||Facts & Comparisons Drug Identifier - allows you to search for drugs by imprint, dose form, score, shape, color, trade/generic name, label/manufacturer name, or NDC/labeler code; includes images of select drugs
Epocrates Mobile App Pill ID - allows you to enter imprint, shape, color, or score; includes images of select drugs
NLM Pillbox - consumer-oriented identifier, allows you to search for drugs by imprint, shape, color, size, and score, plus drug name/ingredient, inactive ingredients, label author, DEA schedule, and product code; includes images of select drugs; links to drug labels and consumer information
|IV Compatibility Mobile App - Drug-solution and drug-drug compatibility results, including contributing factors such as the physical compatibility, storage, study period, container, and chemical stability||Available for purchase; $2.99/year for iPhone/iPad; $2.99/year for Android|
|Alternative Medicine – evidence-based monographs on herbals, dietary supplements, etc. and information on alternative therapies of common health conditions||Natural Standard - Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies including herbal remedies and supplements, with validated rating scales to evaluate quality; CME available.
Facts & Comparisons Review of Natural Products - extensive information about a wide variety of alternative therapies, including herbal remedies and supplements,
NIH Office of Dietary Standards - Contains fact sheets aimed toward medical professionals and consumers for a variety of dietary supplements; available online and in mobile app form
|MARTINDALE – International drug information, including investigational and herbal drugs||Martindale print version, latest edition available in the Health Sciences Library reference section (call number: QV 738 FA1 M384e)
The British Pharmacopoeia - the official, authoritative collection of standards for UK medicinal substances for human and veterinary use. Includes the European Pharmacopoeia. Available in the Health Sciences Library Reference Section (call number: QV 738 FA1 B8)
|PDR® - Physicians’ Desk Reference®: FDA-approved data for prescription, nonprescription, and ophthalmic pharmaceuticals||Physicians' Desk Reference print version, latest edition available in the Health Sciences Library reference section (call number: WB 330 P578)|
|CareNotes® - A comprehensive suite of health topics to help educate patients||Patient Information via UpToDate - UpToDate offers different levels of patient education materials to meet the varying information needs of your patients. "The Basics" are short (1 to 3 page) articles written in plain language, giving a general overview of a medical problem. "Beyond the Basics" articles are 5 to 10 pages long and more detailed than "The Basics". These articles are best for readers who want a lot of detailed information and who are comfortable with some technical medical terms.
FDA Information for Consumers - Information from the US Food & Drug Administration about prescription and over the counter medications, aimed at the general public.