Skip to main content

Indigenous Peoples of North Carolina: Cherokee and Coharie

A Bibliography of Sources Available in the North Carolina Collection, Wilson Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Eastern Band of Cherokee

General Resources 

Crews, C. Daniel and Richard W. Starbuck, editors. Records of the Moravians Among the Cherokees. Tahlequah, Okla.: Cherokee National Press, c2010. C284.6 R311c v.1

Mails, Thomas E. The Cherokee People: The Story of the Cherokees from Earliest Origins to Contemporary Times. Tulsa: Council Oak Books, 1992. FC970.03 M22c

Mooney, James. Historical Sketch of the Cherokee. A Smithsonian Institution Press Book. Chicago: Aldine Publishing Company, 1975. C970.03 M81h

Perdue, Theda. The Cherokee. New York: Chelsea House Publishers, 1989. C970.03 P43c

Perdue, Theda. The Cherokee Nation and the Trail of Tears. New York: Viking, 2007. C970.03 P43c3

Perdue, Theda, and Michael D. Green. The Cherokee Removal: A Brief History With Documents. Boston: Bedford St. Martin's, 2005. C970.03 P43c1 2005

Ross, Thomas E. American Indians in North Carolina: Geographic Interpretations. Southern Pines, N.C.: Karo Hollow Press, 1999. See chapter four, “The North Carolina Cherokee,” pp. 77-102. C970.01 R826a

Fogelson, Raymond D. The Cherokees: A Critical Bibliography. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, for the Newberry Library, 1978. C016.97003 F65c

 

Journal and Newspaper Articles

Cherokee One Feather. Weekly newspaper published in Cherokee, N.C. by the Tribal Council of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians, 1969 – present. FC970.03 C52e

Journal of Cherokee Studies. Published in Cherokee, N. C. by the Museum of the Cherokee Indian, 1976 – present. C970.03 C52

 

Archival Resources

Bushyhead Family Collection, 1980s-2016

The Bushyhead Family Collection consists of materials relating to the Cherokee language project created by Robert H. Bushyhead and Jean L. Bushyhead Blanton, of Cherokee, N.C. There are audiocassettes, videotapes, and handwritten and typed preschool through twelth grade curriculum materials; notes related to the development of the preschool Cherokee language curriculum in reservation child care facilities; unpublished Cherokee and English language dictionaries; supporting project documentation; biographical materials and clippings about Cherokee language preservation; and miscellaneous items.

Coharie

General Resources

Berde, Stuart. Coharie Reemergence: Attaining Religious and Educational Freedom in Eastern North Carolina 1850c – Present. [Pembroke, N.C.]: Lumbee River Legal Services and the Coharie Intra-Tribal Council, 1984. 80 pp. C970.03 B48c

Berde, Stuart. Nowhere to Hide: A Theoretical and Documentary Quest in to Coharie Indian History. [Pembroke, N.C.]: Lumbee River Legal Services and the Coharie Intra-Tribal Council, 1984. 161 pp. C970.03 B48n

Berde, Stuart. Politics and Prayers: The Role of Evangelicism in Coharie Tribal History. [Pembroke, N.C.]: Lumbee River Legal Services, 1982. 69 pp. C970.03 B48p

Butler, G. E. The Croatoan Indians of Sampson County, N.C., Their Origin and Racial Status; A Plea for Separate Schools. [Durham, N.C.: Seeman, 1916]. 65 pp. Cp970.03 B98cAlso available online through Documenting the American South. 

Grady, Don Avasco. “The Coharie Indians of Sampson County, North Carolina: A Collection of Oral Folk History.” M.A. Thesis, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1981. 112 pp. C378 UO2 1981 GRADY, D.A.

Ross, Thomas E. American Indians in North Carolina: Geographic Interpretations. Southern Pines, N.C.: Karo Hollow Press, 1999. See chapter seven, “Coharie Tribe of North Carolina,” pp. 149-161. C970.01 R826a

Wilkins, David (Karonhiawakon). Walking Upright: The Coharie People of Sampson County. Raleigh: North Carolina Division of Archives and History, Research Branch, 1980. Historical Research Reports Series 1, no. 13. 113 pp. C970.03 W68w

 

Journal and Newspaper Articles

Dane, J. K. and B. Eugene Griessman. "The Collective Identity of Marginal Peoples: The North Carolina Experience." American Anthropologist, vol. 74, no. 3 (1972), pp. 694-704. Discusses the development of racial identity among the Haliwa and Sampson County (now Coharie) tribes, especially in the organization of churches and schools.

Lunan, Jack. “Indian School Dedicated for Six-County System.” News and Observer (Raleigh, N.C.), 4 May 1943. C071 N55

“Sampson’s Indians Once Operated Own Schools.” The Sampsonian (Clinton, N.C.), 31 March 1969. "Indians of North Carolina," clipping file through 1975, vol. 3, page 13 (filed under “Lumbee Indians”). North Carolina Collection, C970.01 I39

“Indians Roam Clinton Area and the Wagons Roll West.” News and Observer (Raleigh, N.C.), 7 September 1969. North Carolina Collection clipping file through 1975, reel 38, page 188. CR917 N87

Oakley, Eve. "Coharie Center Preserving Culture, History of Indians." The Fayetteville Observer (Fayetteville, N.C.), 27 August 1984. About the Coharie Indian Center, near Clinton, N.C. C071 F28o3

  • Last Updated: Sep 29, 2020 9:40 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/nc-indigenous