This guide lists African American newspapers published in North Carolina from the 19th-century through the present. This is an attempt to list every African American newspaper published in the state, but we recognize that there may be omissions, and we welcome suggestions.
How to use this guide
Many of these titles are held in the North Carolina Collection, a research collection in Wilson Library at UNC-Chapel Hill. If a publication listed below is available at the North Carolina Collection, click on the title to go to the UNC Library catalog record. The line “NCC has” refers to dates of coverage in the North Carolina Collection. “OCLC” refers to the unique identifier of the publication in WorldCat, where you can view other libraries that also have that publication in their collection. Browsing WorldCat may be useful if NCC coverage of the title is incomplete.
Many of these titles are also available online, though some are only available with the use of a UNC login and password. indicates a resource that requires a UNC login.
New Era Christian Evangelist
Accessible Archives (requires a UNC login)
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 (requires a UNC login)
Newspapers.com - NC papers, by title, available at UNC (requires a UNC login)
North Carolina Newspapers title list, digitized by the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center
Belfield, Sherri Denise. Contemporary Black Newspapers in North Carolina. Honors Essay, School of Journalism, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1989.
Campbell, Georgetta Merritt. Extant Collections of Early Black Newspapers: A Research Guide to the Black Press, 1880-1915, With an Index to the Boston Guardian, 1902-1904. Troy, N.Y., Whitston Pub. Co., 1981.
Caster, Lillie Dailey. Newspapers and Periodicals By and About Black People: Southeastern Library Holdings. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1978.
de Felice, Kent. The Black Press Defined. M.A. Thesis, School of Journalism, Syracuse University, New York, 1969.
Holmes, Kim. Activities of the Black Press, 1827-1892. Ph.D. Dissertation, George Washington University, 1975.
Moses, Bernadine. A Historical and Analytical View of Black Newspapers in North Carolina. M.A. Thesis, School of Journalism, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1976.
Penn, Irving Garland. The Afro-American Press and Its Editors. Springfield, Willey and Company, 1891.
Payne, Gazelia. Black Newspapers in North Carolina: A Description. M.A. Thesis, School of Journalism, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1976.
Potter, Vilma Raskin. A Reference Guide to Afro-American Publications and Editors 1827-1946. Ames, Iowa: Iowa State University Press, 1993.
Pride, Armistead Scott. Negro Newspapers on Microfilm: A Selected List. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1953.
Pride, Armistead Scott. A Register and History of Negro Newspapers in the United States, 1827-1950. Ph.D. Dissertation, Northwestern University, 1951.
This guide was originally prepared by Russell Michalak, August 2005; updated by Sarah Everhart, May 2009; and updated again by Alex Salinas, Shelby Merritt, Emma Boettcher, and Brooke Guthrie, Spring 2015. Sarah Carrier, 2017.