Nursing: Databases

About Databases

Databases contain references to journal articles, books, data, consumer websites and pamphlets, and often even the full text of journal articles. If you are looking for peer-reviewed articles for a class assignment, drug information, or other targeted information on a topic, you will want to search one or more of these resources.

The Health Sciences Library website provides a convenient way to access health-related electronic search tools.

The E-Research by Discipline page on the UNC Libraries web site provides access to all of the libraries' databases.

Health Sciences Databases

These databases contain varying levels of evidence.  Ranging from expert opinions to systematic reviews and meta analyses, these health sciences databases are the best place to start your search.  Most of the information in these databases has been peer-reviewed, but most articles have not been evaluated by experts to determine the strength of the evidence.  This is called unfiltered information.

Evidence-Based Practice Databases

These resources will generally provide higher levels of evidence because experts have collected, analyzed, and reported on the evidence for you.  This is called filtered information.

Higher types of evidence include Systematic Reviews, Meta-Analyses, Guidelines, Critically Appraised Topics and more.

Additionally, many evidence-based practice groups publish their findings online:

You can also search for specific Publication Types or Article Types like Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis, Guideline, or Randomized Controlled Trial in Health Sciences Databases like CINAHLPubMed, or Embase.

Other Useful Databases

These databases are not focused on nursing, but they may also be useful depending on your topic.  This information will also be unfiltered because it has not been appraised by experts.

You can search for an article title in these databases to see a list of all the articles that cite your article.

A to Z Databases

All campus databases

  • browse by title
  • browse by subject
  • search by database name

Find @ UNC

Click on the Find @ UNC button button in database results to:

  • Go directly to most online articles
  • Export article citations to Endnote or to formats for other reference managers
  • Search the UNC-CH Library Catalog to find the print journal
  • Send an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request if the journal is not owned by UNC-CH

 

Support Research, Teaching, & Learning - Give to the HSL