PLCY 430: Analysis of U.S. National Security Policy: Selected Data

Data source that combines current and historical risk ratings to produce political, economic, financial, and social risk data for over 150 countries dating to 1984 in most cases. Useful for studying political, social, and economic stability. Provides access to the data underlying the International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) publication. It includes MONTHLY averages of political risk and QUARTERLY updates of the economic/financial indicators. The regime forecasts for each country are updated 2-3 times annually. Data may be downloaded in tabular form.

Note: Users will need to allow popups to enable this database to work properly.

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest archive of computer readable social science data. ICPSR provides Web access to data files and documentation for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. The ICPSR data holdings contains more than 500,000 files that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Individual registration and adherence to responsible use statement are required.

Note: Off-campus access available if individual's account is created on campus or while authenticated.

An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Provides web-based access to United States Census data from 1790 to the present, and to other U.S. and international data, with the ability to make tables and interactive maps easily or export data for analysis. Data include the most commonly used variables and geographies.

Covers historical annual time series data on American economic, social, political, demographic, and institutional history. Essays place the data in historical context. Download data in Excel or CSV.

Contains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.

Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies.

Covers historical statistical data on socioeconomic topics for Africa, Asia, Oceania; The Americas and Europe. Search by topic key term or country. Download data in PDF or Excel file.