PLCY 054: U.S. Immigration: Home
Scholarly Articles
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- America, History and LifeAn index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. America, History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (Source: vendor website.)
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. - EconLitAccess research articles, citations, and abstracts on economics, accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and more. Major index to economic literature from the American Economic Association.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
- PAIS IndexA bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Includes full-text articles.
- Sociological AbstractsDatabase covering over 2500 journals in sociology, both theoretical and applied, and related disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Articles in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.
Think Tank Reports
- Google Think Tank Search EngineSearches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
- Human Rights Watch: Defending Human Rights WorldwideContains the publications of Human Rights Watch, an independent, nongovernmental organization dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.
Books
example subject heading searches:
- refugees -- southeast asia
- refugees -- syria
- women refugees
-
(Political) Refugees -- [Country or region]
-
Women refugees -- [Country or region]
-
Refugee children -- [Country or region]
-
Immigrants -- [Country or region]
-
Women immigrants -- [Country or region]
-
Immigrant children -- [Country or region]
-
Exiles -- [Country or region]
-
[Name of war] -- Refugees
-
[Country of origin or destination] -- Emigration and immigration
-
[Nationality] -- United States, e.g. Salvadorans -- United States
-
[Nationality] Americans, e.g. Salvadoran Americans
-
Immigrants’ writings, [Language]
-
Exiles’ writings, [Language]
Policies and Policy Actors
- National Conference of State LegislaturesFind state policies by issue area.
- White House - PrioritiesWhite House/President's priorities for his administration, including his stance on immigration.
- ProQuest CongressionalComprehensive source of current and historical U.S. Congressional material, including bills, testimony, reports, documents, selected prints, the Congressional Record, the U.S. Code, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.
- Proquest Legislative Insight Digital ArchiveProvides legislative histories that include PDFs of all relevant publications generated in the course of U.S. congressional lawmaking, including the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports and prints, Presidential signing statements, and CRS reports.
- Congress.govProvides access to legislative information, including the full text of the Congressional Record, a directory of congressional committees and members of Congress, the weekly floor schedule for the House, and a schedule of daily committee hearings.
- Interest GroupsListing of some major U.S. interest groups by issue area from Vote Smart.
Newspaper articles
Evaluate news stories
- Finding News Stories guide
- Fact Check - Nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players.
- Snopes - Site that attempts to dispel urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation.
- Politifact - Fact check for U.S. politics
Find news stories
- America's NewsIncludes complete editions of 827 newspapers in the U.S.
- New York Times Academic PassAll UNC Chapel Hill students now have full, year-round access to The New York Times, including smartphone, tablet, and browser access, thanks to a sponsorship from the University Library.
Note: Students must click on "Create Account" and follow the instructions - registering using your @live.unc.edu email account. Please allow up to a week for your registration to be processed.
Please consult https://guides.lib.unc.edu/nyt-academic-pass for additional information on using this resource.
Statistics
- UNHCR: The United Nations Refugee Agency statistics - Contains research, reports and statistics on the UN's work with refugees around the world.
- Office of Refugee Resettlement - Contains refugee arrival data.
- Migration Policy Institute - U.S. Immigration trends
- Department of Homeland Security - Immigration Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesAn authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
- CIA World FactbookContains current information about countries, including information about people and society, government and transnational issues.
Public Opinion
- Roper Center's iPollMostly U.S. coverage.
Social Sciences Librarian
orcid.org/0000-0003-2533-582X
Connect with us
