PLCY 565: Global Health Policy: Home
Scholarly articles
Public Policy and General databases
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- PAIS IndexA bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Includes full-text articles.
Global Health databases
- Guide to Global Health ResourcesUniversity Libraries * Health Sciences Library
- Global HealthA public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. More than 2.6 million records from 1973 to the present day sourced from over 7,000 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic publications and other hard-to-find resources. Publications from over 100 countries in 52 languages. Over 185,000 records added each year.
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
Think Tank articles
- Google Think Tank Search EngineSearches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
- List of research and policy institutesYale School of Public Health
World Health Organization
- World Health Organization"WHO's primary role is to direct international health within the United Nations' system and to lead partners in global health responses."
- World Health Organization - publicationsYou can find WHO publications here. Try searching in Iris. (http://apps.who.int/iris) WHO's Digital Library.
United Nations
- UNdataProvides simultaneous access to 14 statistical databases from the United Nations and other international organizations through one interface. Areas of coverage include agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population, tourism and trade. Includes Millennium Development Goals indicators, and UN Key Global Indicators.
- United Nations Digital LibrarySearch for World Health Organization
WHO books, journals & government documents
About WHO
- subject: world health organization
- subject: world health organization -- history
Written or published by WHO (some of these will overlap)
Basic Documents by This 47th edition, updated to 31 May 2009, brings together, in one volume, essential documents concerning the governance of the World Health Organization, including the Constitution, Rules of Procedure of both the World Health Assembly and the Executive Board, as well as Financial and Staff Regulations. It also includes Regulations for Expert Advisory Panels and Committees and for Study and Scientific Groups, the texts of agreements with the United Nations and other agencies, the Convention on the Privileges and Immunities of the Specialized Agencies, the Statute of the International Agency for Research on Cancer, and the principles governing relations with nongovernmental organizations. It lists Members and Associate Members of the World Health Organization.
Global Health Organizations
- World Bank Group"With 189 member countries, the World Bank Group is a unique global partnership fighting poverty worldwide through sustainable solutions."
Statistics
See also:
- global health organizations box
- University Libraries * Health Sciences Library's guide to Global Health Data
- Pew Research Center - Health"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions."
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesAn authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Social Sciences Librarian
Sarah Towner Wright, MLS, Head, Clinical and Statewide Engagement
Sarah Towner Wright, MLS
she / her
Contact:
wrightst@med.unc.edu
(919) 966-7332
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
(Google Maps for directions)
orcid.org/0000-0003-2076-8343
My Profile Page
(919) 966-7332
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
(Google Maps for directions)
orcid.org/0000-0003-2076-8343My Profile Page
Connect with us
