Pop-Ups: History & Bibliography
History
Web Resources:
The Pop Up Lady
The website of pop-up collector Ellen Rubin. In addition to the links below, the site also has an About Pop-ups section with numerous resources on pop-ups, including links to online exhibits, tips for care and repair, a glossary of pop-up terms, and information on how pop-ups are made.
Books:
- Movable Books: An Illustrated History byCall Number: Z1033.T68 H34 (SILS Library Folio)Publication Date: 1979This book discusses the history of movable books, covering folding, revolving, dissolving, mechanical, scenic, panoramic, dimensional, changing, pop-up and other novelty books. Illustrated with photographs of items from the collection of David and Briar Philips.
- The Genius of Lothar MeggendorferCall Number: J741.64 Meggendorfer (SILS Library Workroom)Publication Date: 1985A pop-up book illustrating the work of Lothar Meggendorfer, the nineteenth-century artist considered to be the greatest innovator in the field of moving picture books. The book contains reproductions of movable pictures from three different Meggendorfer books.
Bibliography
Pop-Up and Movable Books: A Bibliography by Call Number: Z1033.T68 M65 1993 v.1 and 2 (SILS Library Reference)This two volume bibliography contains a title index of pop-up and movable books.
Volume 1: The first volume, published in 1993, contains a list of 1,600 titles of 19th and 20th century English language books containing movable illustrations, covering the period from the 1850's to 1991.
Volume 2: The second volume, published in 2000, provides an updated book list of titles produced between 1992 and 1997, and includes books published before 1992 that were not included in the 1993 edition.
Online supplement: This online index from 2008 supplements the printed volumes. (The index is arranged alphabetically and you need to click on an alphabet letter to pull up a list of titles beginning with that letter.) The titles include all of the English-language pop-up and movable books published between 1998 and 2007. Also included are works published prior to 1998 which were inadvertently omitted from the print versions.
