The André Savine Collection consists of books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting the three waves of Russian emigration of the 20th century and the lives of Russian exiles abroad. In addition to materials produced by émigrés, the collection includes scarce early Soviet publications and pre-revolutionary editions.
The Library has digitized over 900 items from the Savine Collection that can be accessed freely via the Internet Archive at The André Savine Digital Collection.
With over 30,000 items, the Savine Collection is still being processed. New titles are added to the catalog weekly -- check out the latest additions!
Image: A picture of the Kremlin painted on the wall of the Alekseevskoe Military Academy in the White Army refugee camp in Gallipoli, Turkey. A group of soldiers (and a couple cows) look on.
Image Source: 1-й Армейский корпус в фотографиях. [Gallipoli, ca. 1921].
The Czechoslovak Legion Collection consists primarily of books and periodicals produced by the Legion during its entanglement in the Russian Civil War, 1918-1920. The materials were printed on trains, in towns along the Trans-Siberian railroad, and aboard Allied ships following the Legion's evacuation from Vladivostok. Materials include official newspapers and journals, published Legion documents, political pamphlets, handbooks, works on history, literature, and culture, humor and satire publications, autobiographical materials, reprints of classic literature and original poetry and prose.
Image source: Švec, Václav. Schema historických momentů československ. vojenských operací na Sibiři 1918-1919. Irkutsk, 1919.
UNC Libraries acquired the digital archive of Moscow News, Russia’s oldest English-language newspaper. Moscow News was created in 1930 as the Communist Party mouthpiece aimed at an international audience. From 1986, the newspaper became a voice of reform, tackling previously tabooed topics, and in the post-Soviet period, an important record of the transformations of Russian society. In its final years, the newspaper was part of RIA Novosti media holding and in 2014 was effectively liquidated by President Putin along with its parent news agency. An excellent resource for anyone seeking English-language primary sources on the Soviet Union and post-Soviet Russia.
UNC is a public institution and welcomes all visitors to our library collections. North Carolina residents may obtain a Borrower's Card in order to check out materials, including non-English publications. We have thousands of books in the languages of Eastern Europe, most notably in Russian, Czech, Polish, Serbian, Croatian, Slovak and Hungarian, from scholarly publications in all subjects, to popular fiction and comic books. Visiting or resident unaffiliated scholars interested in full access to library collections, including electronic resources, may wish to apply for the CSEEES Fellows Program.
Our library enjoys a decades-long partnership with Duke University Library for building Slavic and East European collections within the Triangle Research Libraries Network, the nation's oldest library consortium. The division of collection responsibilities between the two campuses enables UNC and Duke to combine their budgets and extend the coverage of the region in ways that would not be sustainable for either library to undertake alone. Below is a summary of major collection responsibilities and their distribution.
* UNC additionally collects Russian language materials from the Baltic States, Transcaucasia, Ukraine, and Moldova, and diaspora materials from Western Europe, Israel and the Americas.
UNC small collection programs, legacy collections, and exchanges: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Estonia, Georgia, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, Slovenia.
*Primarily Russian and English language materials.
**UNC collects Russian language materials from Ukraine.
I am delighted that you have chosen to explore our collections and I am thrilled that you are interested in Russian, Eurasian and East European Studies! Whether you are a seasoned scholar or a neophyte researcher; a student of one of our languages, or a native speaker; a Tar Heel, or a visitor to Carolina, I am certain that you will find information and inspiration among our vast holdings.
Our Slavic and East European Collections are vital to the research, teaching and learning of UNC faculty, students, staff and all residents of North Carolina who seek to understand this complex region. We support scholars from all disciplines, with an emphasis on resources for Bosnian, Croatian, Czech, Hungarian, Polish, Russian, Serbian, Slovak and Ukrainian studies. Likewise, our collections enable research on former states (the Austro-Hungarian Empire, Czechoslovakia, the Russian Empire, the Soviet Union, Yugoslavia), as well as comparative and cross-disciplinary inquiry into the entire region (Central Europe, Southeast Europe, the Caucasus, the Baltic States, Central Asia) and its relations with the rest of the world. Our unique holdings serve scholars throughout the United States and worldwide.
Please do not hesitate to get in touch for research consultations, reading suggestions, help with Russian grammar, or just to say hello. I look forward to hearing from you!