Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Health Sciences Library provides several mobile apps and websites for the UNC Chapel Hill and UNC Hospitals community.
- If you access any of the mobile websites from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your Onyen and password to access them, but the mobile apps will typically NOT require you to login every time once installed.
- Please review the Access Instructions tab for more details on installation or email an HSL Librarian if you need assistance.
Drug Information & Prescribing Apps
mobile Micromedex Drug Essentials
Drug Essentials section of Micromedex. Provides drug, alternative medicine, disease, and toxicology information. Additional sections are available to users at a discounted personal cost. iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows
mobile PDR app
Physician's Desk Reference App with quick drug lookup, current drug information, drug comparison, drug interaction checker, pill identifier
Research Apps & Websites
Mobile Optimized Websites
JAMAevidence provides tools for students and clinicians to evaluate and interpret medical literature and make the best treatment decisions for their patients. The mobile version includes "Quick Reference" pocket cards from Users' Guides to the Medical Literature and "Make the Diagnosis" sections from The Rational Clinical Examination.
Collection of resources for mental health. Includes the DSM-5, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-5 Casebook.
Instructions for App Downloads
This diagnosis app includes a suite of McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine diagnostic resources including Diagnosaurus 2.0, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, the Quick Medical Dx & Tx (QMDT), and the Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests. iPhone, iPad, Blackberry, Android. App will work offline.
Canopy Speak Medical Translator App
Translator app for clinicians interacting with limited-English patients. Includes a large library of pre-translated phrases with text and audio in 15 languages. Set up a link to UNC Health Care or UNC Dentistry translation services.
Access selected medical, dental, nursing and pharmacological textbooks and dictionaries, as well as medical calculators, ACP Smart Medicine, and AHFS DI Essentials. iPhone, iPad, Android
The premier evidence-based clinical decision support resource authored by physicians to help healthcare practitioners make the best decisions at the point of care. iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows
Mobile Optimized Websites
PubMed for Handhelds
Search PubMed by PICO (patient, intervention, comparison, outcome) or regular Medline search. FREE
Health information for patients and families. Covers diseases, conditions, medications, wellness topics, and the latest news. FREE
How to use Canopy, the iPhone / Android medical translation app designed to help clinicians communicate instantly with patients.
BrowZine, the iPhone / Android app is now available on the web. Set it up and get easy access to a personal bookshelf of journals from UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries.
See Mobile Health & Research Apps at UNC for to download more apps.