WGST 101M: Introduction to Women's Studies - Maymester: Home

UNC Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff now have full, year-round access to The New York Times, including smartphone, tablet, and browser access, thanks to a sponsorship from the University Library. For app downloads, visit NYTimes.com/mobile.

Access DOES include NYT Cooking, but does not include e-reader editions, Premium Crosswords or The New York Times Crosswords apps. Pass users also receive access to the New York Times archives (1851-2002) which includes 5 PDF downloads from the Times Machine per day via timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser. Archive articles outside that date range are not subject to that limit. Digital access is available only during the time that our New York Times Site License is active.

To set up your account: Please consult https://guides.lib.unc.edu/nyt-academic-pass for detailed directions on setting up your account.

Available through the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database, offers over 3 million pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper, from 1851 to 2 or 3 years ago. Researchers can use the images to find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.

Offers access to nearly 140 titles and over 320 volumes of the famed Cambridge History series. The texts provide up to date, scholarly, and authoritative content.

Contains the online versions of books previously published by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army.

Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.

Note: Limited to 6 users at a time.

Interdisciplinary, international database covering the core literature of the field of women's and gender studies with links to full text.

Find information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.

An index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. America, History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (Source: vendor website.)

Note: Limited to 6 users at a time.

Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.

Alt-Press Watch provides full text access to alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, publications which bring perspectives, insights, and opinions not often found in mainstream journalism. This product offers over 600,000 articles from over 230 publications.

Allows you to identify newspapers of all kinds published in America from 1690 to the present, see details about them, and find libraries that hold the papers either in paper or microform. Chronicling America provides free access to historic U.S. newspapers published from 1836 through 1922. North Carolina newspapers number among the titles available from more than 30 states and the District of Columbia.

A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.

Covers general, regional, and international news, company and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. Many files are full-text.

Search hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.

Covers historical statistical data on socioeconomic topics for Africa, Asia, Oceania; The Americas and Europe. Search by topic key term or country. Download data in PDF or Excel file.

Data.census.gov is the primary way to access data from most U.S. Census Bureau surveys and programs. Search for data tables from the American Community Survey, Decennial Census, Economics Census, annual Population Estimates, annual economic surveys, and more. Visit the Census Academy site to learn more about using this tool.

Covers historical annual time series data on American economic, social, political, demographic, and institutional history. Essays place the data in historical context. Download data in Excel or CSV.

An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.