Zotero

Zotero is a free citation manager. This page offers information that will help you create and build a reference library, create and use groups to collaborate, and use Zotero to add properly format references in your papers.

Need help?

Call the HSL at (919) 962-0800 to get immediate help (during library hours).
E-Mail us and the best suited librarian will get back to you promptly (quick answers or one-on-one consultations).
Chat with a HSL Librarian to get help (during business hours).

What is ZoteroBib?

ZoteroBib is a free service from Zotero to help you quickly and simply create bibliographies. ZoteroBib lets you seamlessly add items from across the web and generate bibliographies in more than 9,000 citation styles. There’s no software to install or account to create, and it works on any device, including tablets and phones.

To add an item to your bibliography, find it online and paste the URL into the ZoteroBib search box. You can also paste or type in an ISBN, DOI, PubMed ID, or arXiv ID, or you can search by title.

ZoteroBib will fetch the bibliographic info for the item and add it to your bibliography. ZoteroBib can import high-quality data from journal articles, books, newspaper and magazine articles, blog posts, webpages, and more.

If it doesn’t find what you’re looking for or the data is incomplete, the manual editor allows you to enter data by hand.

When you’re done, a single click copies a formatted bibliography to the clipboard for pasting into your word processor, or you can generate a bibliography in HTML to add to a webpage. And, if you want to do more with the bibliography, you can easily save your data to Zotero or export it for loading into any other reference manager.

More information is on the Zotero blog.

ZoteroBib demo gif