Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
AAAD 391: Human Development and Sustainability in Africa and the Diaspora: Home
What's in this guide?
This guide is designed to help you with your coursework in AAAD 391 Human Development and Sustainability in Africa and the Diaspora. It provides information on various resources available from the University Library.
Finding books
- Library Catalog
Discover books, journals, films, primary source collections, government documents, and other materials held at UNC and in the Triangle (you can request materials from Duke, NC State and NC Central) as well as a variety of open access publications.
-
You can request most titles that UNC does not have through Interlibrary Loan. Carolina BLU uses the InterLibrary Loan (ILL) service to request materials from other campus libraries.
-
Start with a keyword search in the catalog. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the Subjects in the record and follow those links to find related books.
You can refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen. Use the "Available Online" filter to limit to materials that may be accessed remotely. Under "Resource Type" you can restrict your results to books, journals, or government documents.
- Keyword: Economic development and Africa
- Associated Subject Heading: "Sustainable development -- Africa"
- Associated Subject Heading: "Natural resources -- Africa -- Management"
- Keyword: Globalization and Africa
- Associated Subject Heading: "Africa -- Social life and customs -- 21st century"
- Associated Subject Heading: "Urbanization -- Africa"
-
To find primary resources, you can add keywords to your search, such as: letters, diaries, speeches, newspaper articles, autobiographies, oral histories, government and organizational records, statistical data, maps, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, advertisements, artifacts, etc. For additional information on primary resources, please consult this guide: Finding Primary Source Materials
Formulating your topic and generating keywords
- Keyword search to find relevant or interesting sources
- Selecting keywords is a multiple-step process that involves:
- identifying the main concepts of your topic
- brainstorming synonyms and atonyms that could also be used to describe your topic
- spell out abbreviations
- Selecting keywords is a multiple-step process that involves:
- Look for subject terms in relevant books and articles; click on the links to find additional titles.
- Click on the title of a book that you find in the library catalog and read or skim abstracts, table of contents, introductions, and bibliographies.
- Find relevant sources cited within sources.
- Look for the scholarly conversation.
Searching for Sources Effectively
Follow the Bibliographic Trail: One proven method for gathering reliable information efficiently is to follow the citations or references from one source to another. The author's bibliography can lead you to other sources on the topic.
Identify Keywords: Before searching the Library Catalog or other databases, take a few minutes to write down all the words that describe your topic. Use these words in keyword or Boolean searches.
Subject Headings: If you find an interesting title in the Library Catalog, open the record and scroll down to alternate Subject Headings. Click on the link and it will take you to additional materials in the Library Catalog with the same subject/topic.
Search Strategy Worksheet from Humboldt State University
Evaluating sources
Evaluating books:
- Find books published by academic presses or publishers.
Evaluating articles:
- Look for articles and journals through the library catalog or E-journals.
- Examine the format of the article.
Research Design & Support
-
What Makes a Good Research Question?Handout from Duke University's Thompson Writing Program Writing Studio. Has good guidelines for and examples of research questions in the social sciences.
-
UNC Writing CenterVisit UNC's Writing Center to make appointments, find writing tips, and access handouts useful for writing literature reviews and research papers.
Librarian
Joanneke Fleischauer
Contact:
919-962-3700
Subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, European History, European Studies, French, German, Italian
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Useful book titles
-
In the Images of Development
by
The urban legacy of the Global South since the colonial era and how sustainable development and environmental and social justice can be achieved. Remarkably little of the expansive literature on development and globalization considers actual urban form and the physical design of cities as outcomes of these phenomena. The development that has shaped historic transformations in urban form and urbanism-and the consequent human experiences-remains largely unexplored. In this book, Tridib Banerjee fills this void by linking the idea of development with those of urbanism, urban form, and urban design, focusing primarily on the contemporary cities in the developing world-the Global South-and their intrinsic prospects in city design. Further, he examines the endogenous possibilities for the future design of these cities that may address growing inequality and the environmental crisis. Banerjee deftly traces the urban legacy of the Global South from the beginning of the colonial era, closely examining the economic, political, and ideological forces that influenced colonial and postcolonial development, drawing from relevant experiences of different cities in the developing world and discussing the arguments for the historic parity of these cities with their Western counterparts. Finally, Banerjee considers essential notions of future city design that are grounded in the critical challenges of sustainable development, equity, environmental and social justice, and diversity, and how such outcomes can be achieved. This book serves as the opening of a long overdue conversation among design, development, and planning scholars and practitioners, and those interested in the urban development of the Global South.
ISBN: 9780262044707Publication Date: 2021-06-08 -
Postcolonial African Cities
by
The book focuses on contemporary African cities, caught in the contradiction of an imperial past and postcolonial present. The essays explore the cultural role of colonial architecture and urbanism in the production of meanings: in the inscription of power and discipline, as well as in the dynamic construction of identities. It is in these new dense urban spaces, with all their contradictions, that urban Africans are reworking their local identities, building families, and creating autonomous communities - made fragile by neo-liberal states in a globalizing world. The book offers a range of scholarly interpretations of the new forms of urbanity. It engages with issues, themes and topics including colonial legacies, postcolonial intersections, cosmopolitan spaces, urban reconfigurations, and migration which are at the heart of the continuing debate about the trajectory of contemporary African cities. The collection discusses contemporary African cities as diverse as Dar Es Salaam, Dakar, Johannesburg, Lagos and Kinshasa - offering new insights into the current state of postcolonial African cities. This was previously published as a special issue of African Identities.
ISBN: 9780415454483Publication Date: 2008-03-12 -
Post-Independence Development in Africa
by
The book Post-Independence Development in Africa: Decolonisation and Transformation Prospects revisits the development debates and development realities in Africa. This is achieved by offering theoretical comments about post-independence development in Africa and by providing historical details pertaining to the development approaches adopted in Africa immediately after independence in the 1960s and mid-70s. Sitting at the intersection of two sets of scholarly literature, namely; literature on development and literature on development discourses and practices in Africa, the book comprises a mixture of detailed sector-specific accounts of the status of development on the continent. The chapters in the book also contribute to clarifying how the two strands of literature intersect using several case studies across Africa.
ISBN: 9783031305405Publication Date: 2023-07-12 -
Sustainable Management Development in Africa
by
Sustainable Management Development in Africa examines how African management and business scholarship can serve African and multinational management and organizations operating in Africa. In a broader sense, this book, within an African context, explores how human capital and intellectual capabilities can be organized at the higher education level; describes the cultural, social, and political influencers impacting management and organization; helps conceptualize African management theories to address organizational effectiveness; addresses the current management and organizational practices in Africa in identifying challenges; and provides guidance for more effective management and organizational operation. Aimed at researchers, academics, and advanced students alike, this book lays the groundwork for the application of uniquely African theoretical and practical perspectives for sustainable management and organizational operation, as explained from a contemporary African point of view. In addition and most important, this book contains a uniquely African content that allows for developing new theories and examining new ways of doing business, thus reaffirming the rise of African scholarship in the fields of management, organization, and business.
ISBN: 9781317500964Publication Date: 2016-04-14 -
Women's Contributions to Development in West Africa
by
This book examines women's participation in social, economic and political development in West Africa. The book looks at women from the premise of being active agents in the development processes within their communities, thereby subverting the dominate narrative of women as passive recipients of development.
ISBN: 9789811981890Publication Date: 2023-03-01 -
The Humanitarian Exit Dilemma
by
ISBN: 9781032307961Publication Date: 2023-05-01 -
Human Development and the Path to Freedom
by
How has human development evolved during the last 150 years of globalization and economic growth? How has human development been distributed across countries? How do developing countries compare to developed countries? Do social systems matter for wellbeing? Are there differences in the performance of developing regions over time? Employing a capabilities approach, Human Development and the Path to Freedom addresses these key questions in the context of modern economic growth and globalization from c.1870 to the present. Leandro Prados de la Escosura shows that health, access to knowledge, standards of living, and civil and political freedom can substitute for GDP per head as more accurate measures of our wellbeing.
ISBN: 9781108708586Publication Date: 2022-07-28 -
Education and Development
by
This edited volume addresses a critical aspect of development in Africa: the intersection between education and governance. Using case studies and experiences from different parts of the continent, this book assesses how the potential for human resources, in terms of education, can be leveraged in the development process to achieve equity, inclusive development and governance outcomes in Africa. This book builds on the "resource curse" to focus on human resources as an alternative paradigm to sustainable development in Africa. At a time when concerns over access to quality education is an important issue among policy makers and international development agents, this timely project calls attention to one of the most critical aspects of development in Africa.
ISBN: 9783030405656Publication Date: 2020-05-06 -
Finance for Sustainable Development in Africa
by
"Although a number of African countries have made efforts to implement various financial sector reforms, many countries have not fully implemented the requisite reforms required for sustainable development. Instead, they have focused mainly on bank-based financial reforms, thereby neglecting market-based financial reforms. This book provides a one-stop-shop for understanding the history and evolution of the financial sector in Africa from financial repression to financial liberalisation, and its role in sustainable development and poverty alleviation. The book covers a range of important research issues pertaining to financial development in Africa, including interest rate and exchange rate reforms, the dynamics of bank-based and market-based financial development; the role of the informal financial sector in sustainable development; the finance-growth nexus; bank-based versus market-based financial sectors in Africa; financial development and information and communication technology; and financial development and gender equality, among other topics. The book also considers the relationship between the COVID-19 global pandemic and financial development and concludes by presenting a forecast of the future trends of financial and sustainable development on the African continent. The chapters are authored by prominent scholars and researchers in the field of finance and banking, applied econometrics and development economics, with a deep understanding and knowledge of financial development and the local situations in African countries. The book provides crucial reference material for academics, researchers, policymakers and students of all levels and is a must-read for anyone wishing to understand the nature of finance and sustainable development in Africa in relation to the rest of the world"--
ISBN: 9781032103792Publication Date: 2023-06-01 -
International Aid and Urban Change
by
The presence of expatriate humanitarian workers in African cities is not neutral. Country capitals receive large and sudden influx of expatriates during humanitarian crises responses. This book examines the influence of this presence on the local urban ecosystem, from the building of a security discourse to the self-segregation of aid agencies in expatriate enclaves. The examples of Abidjan, Bamako, Juba and Nairobi illustrate different variants of urban change induced by the normative power of aid organisations.
ISBN: 9783034345620Publication Date: 2022-08-05
