ANTH 89: Canine Cultures: Visual Analysis

Museum and Archive Collections:

• Library of Congress Prints & Photographs
• Smithsonian Institution Collections Search
• The British Museum
• Digital Public Library of America

Wikimedia Commons:

• Paintings of People with Dogs

Find images at the Sloane Art Library by browsing the stacks:

• Artists known for their depictions of dogs in visual art.
  • Picasso, Pablo, 1881-1973
  • Rembrandt Harmenszoon van Rijn, 1606-1669
  • Cassatt, Mary, 1844-1926
  • Kahlo, Frida, 1907-1954

 These institutions offer free downloading of images of artworks from their collections which are in the public domain.                                                  

Important Note: If you are planning to publish your own work (not just submit it as a course assignment, but formally publish it), and you have reproduced someone else's image in your work, you must investigate whether or not the image is under copyright. If it is, you must obtain permission from the copyright holder. (source: Columbia College, Vancouver, https://columbiacollege-ca.libguides.com/chicago/images)

If you insert an image into your paper, put the citation information in a caption under the image instead of in a footnote. If you just refer to the image, put the citation information in a footnote. 

There is no set format for captions. Below is a recommended approach to creating captions.

How to create a caption:

• Place the caption directly below your image
• Start the caption with a figure number (e.g. Figure 1.)
• If appropriate, begin the caption with a brief description of the figure. This is usually when the item does not have a formal title, or if you would like to provide further explanation of the content of the figure.
• Write a citation for the image using the same format you would in a footnote
• Single space the caption, no indent
• Leave at least one blank line between your caption and the text below it

Example:

Figure 1. Artist: Emanuel de Witte (Dutch, Alkmaar ca. 1616–1692 Amsterdam). Interior of the Oude Kerk, Delft. probably 1650. Oil on wood, 19 x 13 5/8 in. (48.3 x 34.6 cm). The Metropolitan Museum of Art. https://jstor.org/stable/community.16002809.

 (source: Columbia College, Vancouver, https://columbiacollege-ca.libguides.com/chicago/images)

Bibliography Entry:

Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork or description if no title. Date of Creation or Completion. Medium of artwork, size of artwork. Name of Institution Where Artwork is Located, Name of City [if not already stated in Name of Institution]. In Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition, by Book Author's First Name Last Name, page number, fig. Figure Number. Publisher, Year.

Footnote:

Footnote Number. Artist's First Name Last Name, Title of Artwork or description if no title, Date of Creation or Completion, medium of artwork, size of artwork, Name of Institution Where Artwork is Located, Name of City [if not already stated in Name of Institution], in Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, edition if given and is not first edition, by Book Author's First Name Last Name (Publisher, Year), page number, fig. Figure Number.

 Note: If the book has an editor instead of an author, use the editor's name, and replace "by" with "edited by".

 Note: Omit any citation elements that you do not know, such as the medium or size.

 (source: Columbia College, Vancouver, https://columbiacollege-ca.libguides.com/chicago/images)

Bibliography Entry:

Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork or description if no title. Date of Creation or Completion. Medium of artwork, size of artwork. Name of Institution Where Artwork is Located, Name of City [if not already stated in Name of Institution]. Title of Website. Museum Accession Number. URL.

Footnote:

Footnote Number. Artist's First Name Last Name, Title of Artwork or description if no title, Date of Creation or Completion, medium of artwork, size of artwork, Name of Institution Where Artwork is Located, Name of City [if not already stated in Name of Institution], Title of Website, Museum Accession Number, URL.

Note: Omit any citation elements that you do not know, such as the medium or size.

Note: Omit the title of the website if it is the same as the institution name.

 (source: Columbia College, Vancouver, https://columbiacollege-ca.libguides.com/chicago/images)

Bibliography Entry:

Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork or description if no title. Date of Creation or Completion. Medium of artwork, size of artwork. Name of Museum or Gallery Where Artwork is Located, Name of City [if not already stated in Name of Museum or Gallery]. Museum Accession Number. URL.

Footnote:

Footnote Number. Artist's First Name Last Name, Title of Artwork or description if no title, Date of Creation or Completion, medium of artwork, size of artwork, Name of Museum or Gallery Where Artwork is Located, Name of City [if not already stated in Name of Museum or Gallery], Museum Accession Number, URL.

 Note: Omit any citation elements that you do not know, such as the medium or size.

 (source: Columbia College, Vancouver, https://columbiacollege-ca.libguides.com/chicago/images)

Bibliography Entry:

Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of Image or description if no title. Date of Creation or Completion. Medium of artwork, size of artwork. Name of Institution Where Artwork is Located, Name of City [if not already stated in Name of Institution]. Name of Database or Online Image Library. Museum Accession Number. URL.

Footnote:

Footnote Number. Artist's First Name Last Name, Title of Image or description if no title, Date of Creation or Completion, medium of artwork, size of artwork, Name of Institution Where Artwork is Located, Name of City [if not already stated in Name of Institution], Name of Database or Online Image Library, Museum Accession Number, URL.

 Note: Omit any citation elements that you do not know, such as the medium or size.

 (source: Columbia College, Vancouver, https://columbiacollege-ca.libguides.com/chicago/images)