ANTH 348: Gender, Sexuality and Health: Books & Articles
Great starting points for your research
A few key databases focused on Women's and Gender Studies, Anthropology or Sociology may be helpful starting points -- but there are also many more resources that can be found on the E-Research by Discipline tab or by exploring other Research Guides on the library website.
Finding books
- Library Catalog
Discover books, journals, films, primary source collections, government documents, and other materials held at UNC and in the Triangle (you can request materials from Duke, NC State and NC Central) as well as a variety of open access publications.
-
You can request most titles that UNC does not have through Interlibrary Loan. Carolina BLU uses the InterLibrary Loan (ILL) service to request materials from other campus libraries.
-
Start by entering a few keywords related to your topic in the library catalog search bar. Once you find a relevant item, check the Subject Headings listed in its record, these are standardized terms that link to other materials on similar topics. Clicking on them is a great way to discover related resources.
You can refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen. Use the "Available Online" filter to limit to materials that may be accessed remotely. Under "Resource Type" you can restrict your results to books, journals, or government documents.
- Research question:
- How do gender roles affect girls’ access to health services in Tanzania?
- Potential keywords:
- Gender roles
- Public health
- Health access
- Adolescent girls
- Tanzania
- Gender norms
- Health interventions
- Gender inequality
- Reproductive health
- Cultural beliefs and health
- Associated Subject Heading: "Children -- Health and hygiene -- Africa"
- Associated Subject Heading: "Children -- Africa, Sub-Saharan -- Social conditions"
-
To find primary resources, you can add keywords to your search, such as: letters, diaries, speeches, newspaper articles, autobiographies, oral histories, government and organizational records, statistical data, maps, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, advertisements, artifacts, etc. For additional information on primary resources, please consult this guide: Finding Primary Source Materials
General and multidisciplinary search options
-
Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
-
Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
-
Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Google Scholar provides the "cited by" feature which traces an article's topic from the time of publication forward.The cited by link will show other articles that have cited this resource. When combined with an article's bibliography, you are then able to locate a project within a scholarly conversation. Be sure to configure your Google Scholar account so that you gain full access to articles provided by the University Libraries.
-
JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Subject specific databases
-
Women's Studies InternationalInterdisciplinary, international database covering the core literature of the field of women's and gender studies with links to full text.
-
Sociological AbstractsDatabase covering over 2500 journals in sociology, both theoretical and applied, and related disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Articles in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.
-
Global HealthA public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. More than 2.6 million records from 1973 to the present day sourced from over 7,000 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic publications and other hard-to-find resources. Publications from over 100 countries in 52 languages. Over 185,000 records added each year.
-
AnthroSourceDeveloped by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource provides over a century publications online. It has current issues of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications and archives of all AAA journals.
Reference Resources
-
CQ ResearcherThe CQ Researcher is the perfect answer for people beginning research on current topics. It covers the most current and controversial issues of the day. From Abortion to War, each issue gives you a comprehensive review of the controversies, historical background, chronology of important events, opposing views from experts on the subject, and extensive bibliographies for additional research.
-
Issues and Controversies on FileContains full text articles on current topics of interest, arranged in opposing points of view. It is intended to give users a quick grasp of the essentials of more than 250 controversial news topics. It also contains chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information.
-
Points of View Reference SourceProvides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles.
-
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineProvides sophisticated online recommendations to the core scholarship on a subject as determined by experts in the field. Each module constitutes a convenient and comprehensive introduction to the essential body of literature that has shaped research on a topic. At the click of a mouse, you therefore have 24/7 access to expert recommendations that have been rigorously peer-reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity.
Each OBO subject database allows you to identify the core authors, works, ideas, and debates that have shaped the scholarly conversation so you can find the key literature. All the bibliographic essays have been peer-reviewed, and the specific entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library. The "My OBO" feature also allows you to create a personalized list of citations.
-
The Cambridge Handbook for the Anthropology of Gender and Sexuality
by
The tense but enduring engagement between anthropology and gender and sexuality studies has had profound effects upon anthropological theory and practice. Bringing together contributions from an international team of authors, this Handbook shows that anthropological work has taken inspiration from feminist and LGBTQI movements to create a transformative body of research. It provides an accessible, state-of-the-art overview of the anthropology of gender and sexuality whilst also documenting its historical emergence, highlighting the varied impact gender and sexuality studies have had on anthropological theory. It is split into five parts, with each chapter introducing a contemporary anthropological theory through in-depth ethnographical discussion. It features intersectional, black, and indigenous authors, providing a forum for established and emerging voices to gesture towards futures of anthropology of gender and sexuality. Authoritative and cutting-edge, it is essential reading for researchers and students in anthropology, and will set the agenda for future research in the field.
ISBN: 9781108427449Publication Date: 2023-10-19 -
Unsettling Queer Anthropology
by
This field-defining volume of queer anthropology foregrounds both the brilliance of anthropological approaches to queer and trans life and the ways queer critique can reorient and transform anthropology. Consisting of fourteen original essays by both distinguished and new voices, Unsettling Queer Anthropology advances a vision of queer anthropology grounded in decolonial, abolitionist, Black feminist, transnational, postcolonial, Indigenous, and queer of color approaches. Critically assessing both anthropology's queer innovations and its colonialist legacies, contributors highlight decades of work in queer anthropology; challenge the boundaries of anthropology's traditional methodologies, forms, and objects of study; and forge a critical, queer of color, decolonizing queer anthropology that unsettles anthropology's normative epistemologies. At a moment of revitalized calls to reckon with the white supremacist and settler colonial logics that continue to shape anthropology, this volume advances an anthropology accountable to the vitality of queer and trans life. Contributors. Jafari Sinclair Allen, Tom Boellstorff, Erin L. Durban, Elijah Adiv Edelman, Lyndon K. Gill, K. Marshall Green, Brian A. Horton, Nikki Lane, Martin F. Manalansan IV, Shaka McGlotten, Scott L. Morgensen, Kwame Otu, Juno Salazar Parreñas, Lucinda Ramberg, Sima Shakhsari, Savannah Shange, Anne Spice, Margot Weiss, Ara Wilson
ISBN: 9781478059400Publication Date: 2024-04-12 -
Queer and Trans Life
by
Against a background marked by endless ordinary crises, widespread precarity, and disrupting critical events, Queer and Trans Life charts queer investments for the future. It examines the challenges and pleasures in marginal everyday experiences of gender and sexual dissidence and the labours of care and endurance which sustain a sense of sociality and community, often against all odds. It presents queer and trans anthropological research from emerging European contexts. Though occasionally posited as non-belonging, the volume demonstrates that queer anthropology in Europe continues to thrive by providing textured ethnographic analysis and timely interventions in anthropological theory.
ISBN: 9781805398585Publication Date: 2025-02-01
Dissertations
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global can provide useful bibliographies and models for structuring your own work.
Save time searching!
When searching the preceding databases, use these tips for better results:
- Use wildcard characters: If searching for economic conditions, type the word econ* with an asterisk. That will return economies, economic, economist and any other word that starts with [e c o n].
- Use quotes: When searching for two words, quotes will search for the words when they're next to each other. Thomas Jefferson will return articles with Thomas Payne and Jefferson Starship. But when "Thomas Jefferson" is searched, only those articles with his name will be returned.
Use Google's Advanced Search to limit by date, language and more
or
Use Operators in Google Searches
Some favorite operators to remember:
Use quotes to search for a phrase in Google
Exclude a word by adding a dash (-) before it
Search for similar words by adding a tilde (~) before a word (located in the top left of your keyboard)
Limit to specific sites or domains using "site:"
For example: [urban policy site:edu]
will search for urban policy only on sites ending with .edu
General search tips:
Choose effective keywords- what words are likely to appear in the results your want? What other words might be used?
To search for text on a page:
press the Ctrl and the F keys at the same time (PC) or press the command and F keys at the same time (Mac)