Art & Design Research: Using Images
ARTstor Digital Library
- ARTstor
A digital library of over 2 million images and media files covering the arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences with tools for teaching, research and study. See ARTstor's complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library's ARTstor guide.
Using Images and Protecting your Work
- Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts (College Art Association)CAA's guidelines for using images and Fair Use Standard
- Fair Use LibGuide (UNC)A guide created by Scholarly Communications Officer Anne Gilliland, MSLIS, JD
- Copyright & Fair Use OverviewStanford University's guides to copyright and fair use basics.
Open Access Digital Collections
These institutions offer free downloading of images of artworks from their collections which are in the public domain.
- The Art Institute of ChicagoPublic domain images from the Art Institute of Chicago
- British Library on flickrBritish Library public domain images.
- The Cleveland Museum of ArtOpen access images from the Cleveland Museum of Art
- Creative CommonsSearch for images in the Public Domain and under Creative Commons licenses.
- The Getty collectionsOpen content images from the Getty collections
- GLAM list of CC licensing case studiesA working list or "scratchpad" of examples of CC collections from Galleries, Libraries, Archives, and Museums (GLAM)
- Library of Congres free-to-use setsLibrary of Congress digital content that is free to use and reuse.
- Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)Public domain images from LACMA
- The Metropolitan Museum of ArtOpen access images from the Met
- National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.Open access images from the National Gallery of Art
- NYPL Public Domain ImagesMore than 180,000 images from the New York Public Library that are in the public domain.
- Smithsonian Open AccessMillions of the images from Smithsonian's museums, libraries, archives, and research centers available to download and reuse.
Moccasins
Moccasins, ca. 1830, Muscogee/ Creek, Native American, tanned leather, dye, cotton cloth, silk ribbon, and glass and metal beads, Collection of The Metropolitan Museum of Art