Asian Studies Resources: Books & Articles

Resources for Asian Studies

UNC catalog search

Searchable using Chinese as well as a romanizied script for Chinese resources. All the computers in Davis Library are able to input Chinese scripts.

If your item is not available at UNC, try TRLN (Triangle Research Libraries Network).
Search TRLN provides a single search interface to the TRLN Libraries' Collections.
If it is not within the libraries of TRLN, try Worldcat. Worldcat is a world-wide catalog of books, articles, visual materials, etc.

Off-campus access to some resources is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.

More databases can also be found at East Asian Studies.

Foreign Office Files for China, 1949-1980
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Country Studies/Area Handbooks (Library of Congress)
Access: No restrictions.
Coverage: Varies for each country
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Sunday Times (London) Digital Archive
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

H-Buddhism
more...less...
H-Buddhism serves as a medium for the exchange of information regarding academic resources, new research projects, scholarly publications, university job listings, and so forth, for specialists in Buddhist Studies who are currently affiliated with academic institutions
Resources for East Asian Language and Thought
more...less...
Resources for East Asian Language and Thought by A. Charles Muller, Faculty of Letters, University of Tokyo
Six Chinese Classics
more...less...
Analects of Confucius 論語
• Great Learning 大學
• Doctrine of the Mean 中庸
• Mencius 孟子
• Daode jing 道德經
• Zhuangzi (Chapter One) 莊子
Buddhist, Confucian, and Daoist E-texts, Indexes, and Bibliographies
more...less...
Buddhist, Confucian, and Daoist E-texts, Indexes, and Bibliographies

Asian Studies WWW Monitor
The Asian Studies WWW Monitor" (ISSN 1329-9778) was established 21 April 1994. It was closed down on 21 Jan 2011. The journal, a pioneering and the only publication of this kind in the world, provided virtually daily abstracts and reviews of new/updated online resources of significance to research, teaching and communications dealing with Asian Studies.
CJKV-English Dictionary
A Dictionary of Sinitic Characters and Compounds Related to East Asian Cultural, Political, and Intellectual History. PLEASE NOTE: Any user may access the dictionary by entering “guest” as the username with no password. This will allow a total of 10 searches in each of the DDB and CJKV-E dictionaries in a 24-hour period.