Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
CHEM 089 - Medicinal Plants - Bridging Chemistry, Medicine, and Native American Culture: Home
Natural Products
- Natural Medicines
Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies including herbal remedies and supplements, with validated rating scales and grades to quickly evaluate quality; comprehensive monographs designed to facilitate clinical decision making. Includes content drawn from the former Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits available.
- Healthy Ingredients"Healthy Ingredients" supplies profiles of plants that include historical and current uses, modern research from human clinical studies, and the future outlook of each plant.
- American Botanical Council ResourcesA variety of information sources on herbs.
- Dietary Supplement Label DatabaseThe DSLD is produced by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and National Library of Medicine (NLM). It contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.
Understanding Medicinal Plants by ISBN: 9781136614873Publication Date: 2013-01-11Learn how medicinal plants work from the chemical level upward Understanding Medicinal Plants: Their Chemistry and Therapeutic Action is designed to teach the chemical concepts necessary to understand the actions of medicinal plants to people who are intimidated by chemistry.
Encyclopedia of Herbal Medicine New Edition by ISBN: 9780744081794Publication Date: 2023-08-29Discover how to make and use natural remedies from home-grown herbs to improve your health and wellbeing.
Finding information and resources
- University Libraries WebsiteFind information on academic areas of all subjects including journal articles, ebooks and other reliable sources.
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- AccessScienceReference resource covering major scientific disciplines with links to primary sources
- Google Scholar Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Proquest CentralA general reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library.
Finding Images
- Free image resourcesIn order to use an image for your work, you either:
* need to take the picture yourself
* find it in the public domain
* find it licensed under Creative Commons
* pay for it.
Always cite your source
Citations
Refer "Citing Information" Library Guide
Science Libraries Chat
Creating an Infographic
- Creating an InfographicWell-designed visuals can make your data more engaging. This webpage is full of tips and resources to help you make infographics that will wow your audience.