EDUC 390: International & Comparative Education: Finding Articles
Databases and Journals
Click here to browse our full list of databases.
Click here to search and browse for online journal subscriptions.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Theses & Dissertations
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses
Databases
Education Databases
- ERICProduced by the Educational Resource Information Center, ERIC provides indexing and abstracting for journal and report literature (1966 to the present) in education and related disciplines.
- Education Full TextCovers more than 770 periodicals in the field of education, and selected books and annuals. Indexing from 1983-present; Full text coverage includes more than 350 journals from 1983-present.
Note: We are limited to 8 simultaneous users.
Global Issues and Public Policy Databases
- PAIS IndexA bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Includes full-text articles.
- JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
Find @ UNC
Having trouble finding full text articles? Here are some troubleshooting steps to try.
1. Always start your search from somewhere on the library's website (such as this guide!). When you click a link to an external resource, you'll be prompted to enter your Onyen.
2. Look for a link that says "Find @ UNC", or a blue button like this: 
3. Put the link into our Link Builder tool, or paste the proxy prefix (https://login.libproxy.lib.unc.edu/login?url=) in front of a link to prompt an Onyen login page.
Articles+
Articles+ is a platform where you can search all of the Library's electronic subscriptions, including journal articles and e-books. It can be a great place to start your search.
- Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
Google Scholar @ UNC
Link UNC Subscriptions to Google Scholar
You can link UNC Libraries' digital subscriptions to your Google Scholar profile to gain access to full text articles.
- Click on the horizontal bars to show the left navigation menu, and select Settings
- Select Library Links
- Search for "University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill"
- Click Save. That's it!
Once you have saved this link, you will see a "Find@UNC" link next to articles in a Google Scholar search results page.
Right click & open this photo in a new tab for a larger view.