E-Research by Discipline: German: Home

ANNO - AustriaN Newspapers Online now has over 20 different newspapers with selective full-text coverage from the period 1780 to 1937. It serves as a portal to historical journals, periodicals, and newspapers published in the Habsburg Monarchy and Austria.

EUobserver is an independent online newspaper established in Brussels with the aim to support European democracy. Features in depth investigations containing news from different countries in Europe but also extends to the rest of the world. Focused reports on different issues – LGBTI rights, health, Nordic news, and EU presidency. News is presented as headlines, but also in separate categories and in browse-able format. Reports are also available in German and French.

First published on November 1, 1949, the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung is one of the major daily newspapers in Germany. Its intended scope covers a comprehensive range of topics in Germany and internationally. F.A.Z. contains 3 modules:

F.A.Z.-Bibliotheksportal contains more than 4 million text-searchable articles of the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung newspapers (daily edition, Sunday edition) from 1993 to the present as well as Frankfurter Rundschau and other publications of F.A.Z..

F.A.Z. 49-92 contains more than 2.8 million text-searchable articles from Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung from the founding of the newspaper in 1949 until 1992.

Frankfurter Rundschau Archives covers digital articles for this title from 1995 onward (2 millon articles).

The Internet Archive of Jewish Periodicals offers the full text of over 100 German-language, Jewish periodicals published mainly in Germany, beginning in 1806 and ending in 1938.

Official daily newspaper of the former German Democratic Republic, published in Berlin 1946-present.

Provides access to millions of articles in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 2000, many of which are not in English.

German Literary Expressionism Online contains 151 journals, yearbooks, collections and anthologies from the early 20th century. The database also contains bio-bibliographical articles on the 350 Expressionist authors.

The premier bibliography covering Western-language studies of German language and literature. Covers books, pamphlets, articles, chapters in books, dissertations and reviews.

The Encyclopedia of Romantic Nationalism (ERNiE) contains analytical articles on themes and persons, as well as historical documentation (Letters, Writings, Images, Music, etc.), tracing and visualizing the transnational rise of national culture-building in 19th-century Europe.

Offers a wealth of critical and biographical information about more than 120,000 authors from the Classical period to the present. It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, thousands of plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, over 100,000 author biographies, several thousand author portraits, and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.

KLG, Das kritische Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur, is the standard database for German Literature and German language literature published after 1945; provides bio-bibliographical information for more than 650 authors. Each entry consists of a short biography; a list of prizes won; a bibliography of the author's works; the bibliography includes translations by the author, as well as theater, film, radio, and multimedia projects based on the author's work; interviews; and a list of secondary resources.

Offers a wealth of material with which to study and analyze literature: plot summaries, critical essays, author biographies, literary journals, book reviews, poems, short stories, and author interviews. It also provides reference material such as several encyclopedias of literature.

A major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.

Conceived as a continuously-evolving, up-to-date digital encyclopedia, a scholarly alternative to crowd-sourced general reference materials proliferating online that relies on the extensive commitment to publishing literary works of Oxford University Press. We envision a wide-ranging and category-busting resource for scholars and students that will make the case for literature as a capacious and multifaceted form of human communication across the ages and around the globe. This resource will provide links to a vast array of on-line materials hitherto centrally unavailable.

Collection of primary sources on the Third Reich, the National Socialist state, the NSDAP, Nazi ideology, and propaganda, both from the point of view of supporters and resisters. Materials include institutional records (courts, secret police, occupied territories administration), biographical and autobiographical sources, and propaganda.

Covers the origins of Western culture beginning with the earliest print resources from continental Europe to 1700. Built on the pattern of Early English Books Online (EEBO), this project is Europe-wide and will trace the history of printing in Europe from its origins to 1700.

Contains digital images of the complete text of all published volumes of Monumenta Germaniae Historica up to the year 2010.

The texts included in the Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker range from early German writing to the works of major authors of the nineteenth century, including historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background. Scholars can follow the political and intellectual debates at the heart of Europe in the nineteenth century, for example, by reviewing texts relating to the theory of the state and the church or the theory and history of war.

Comprises 170 German-language titles of books and pamphlets and presents anti_Semitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education. It also includes writings on Jehovah's Witnesses, Jesuits, and the Freemasons.

Includes Philosophische Schriften von Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz. Herausgegeben von Carl Immanuel Gerhardt. Berlin (Weidmann), 1875-1890.<

Nietzsches Werke: Historisch-kritische Ausgabe contains all and only Nietzsche's works found in the Kritische Studienausgabe, but are drawn from the Kritische Gesamtausgabe, and includes both Kritische Gesamtausgabe and Kritische Studienausgabe pagination.

Contains citations and abstracts of dissertations accepted by Austrian universities from 1990 to 2004.