An electronic repository and archive for research materials on the topic of European integration and unification. The goal of the AEI is to collect as many potential research materials, working papers, policy papers, conference papers, small monographs, pre-prints, etc on this topic as possible, both for current use and for permanent archiving. The database includes publications in any language, although titles must be in English.
Contains the online versions of books previously published by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army.
Access: No restrictions. Coverage: Varies for each country
Links connect to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Antiquity to Present
European Sources Online [ESO] is a free-access database and information service. It aims to support users in understanding Europe and beyond. It brings together a comprehensive and curated set of sources and information, which are able to inform people holding different levels of expertise.
This guide is a list of scholarly resources in European Studies broadly but in some cases offers resources for regions or specific countries of Europe. Intended primarily for librarians; it may be useful to scholars in this field. It is curated and managed by members of the European Studies Section (ESS) of the Association of College & Research Libraries.
EuropeNow is an online monthly journal that features research, criticism, and journalism on Europe alongside literary nonfiction, fiction, poetry, translations, and visual art from or concerning Europe.
This is a selective guide to finding primary source materials for historical research. The University Libraries maintain rich collections of primary sources in print, microform, and electronic formats. Additionally, there are hundreds of collections of primary source materials freely available online. Because there is no single comprehensive database of primary sources, you may need to explore different strategies for locating resources of interest.
The EHNE digital encyclopedia offers an interdisciplinary approach to the European history of gender, wars, art, circulations and networks, as well as major ideologies and political debates. It is interested in Europe's cultural and religious foundations, and explores the relations between Europe and the rest of the world.
The Encyclopedia of Romantic Nationalism (ERNiE) contains c. 1700 analytical articles on themes and persons, as well as historical documentation (Letters, Writings, Images, Music etc.), tracing and visualizing the transnational rise of national culture-building in 19th-century Europe.
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. In October 2010, this portal provided access to 177641 full-text research theses from 300 Universities sourced from 19 European countries.