Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
FREN 369: Environment, Society, and Public Policy in Southern France: Research tools
Interdisciplinary Article Databases
-
Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
-
Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
-
Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses -
ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
Subject Databases
-
Environment CompleteJournals on topics including agriculture, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, urban planning, and more.
-
PAIS IndexA bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Includes full-text articles.
-
Sociological AbstractsDatabase covering over 2500 journals in sociology, both theoretical and applied, and related disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Articles in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.
-
EconLitAccess research articles, citations, and abstracts on economics, accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and more. Major index to economic literature from the American Economic Association.
Selected Resources
-
International Organisation of Vine and WineThe OIV provides grape and wine producing and consuming countries with information to develop regulations, minimise barriers to trade, promote sustainable production and protect consumers.
-
Environmental History ResourcesEnvironmental History Resources, is a comprehensive online hub dedicated to exploring the intersections of environmental issues and human history. It features a wide range of articles, resources, and links related to environmental history, from ancient civilizations to modern times.
-
Climate Policy Info HubThe Climate Policy Info Hub offers evidence on climate policy options. It explores impacts and implications of international and EU climate policy for decision-makers in policy, business and civil society.
-
PoliticoPolitico is a global nonpartisan politics and policy news organization.
-
Global Atlas of Environmental JusticeFrom the EEB, the largest network of environmental citizens’ organisations in Europe. The environmental justice atlas documents and catalogues social conflict around environmental issues.
-
EC Library Guide on country knowledge: France. A selection of information resources relevant to the work of the European CommissionThe European Union Country Profiles website gives Information on EU countries, government and society, countries using the euro, members of border-free travel area.
-
The Climate Reality ProjectFormer US Vice President Al Gore founded The Climate Reality Project to catalyze a global solution to the climate crisis by making urgent action a necessity across every sector of society.
-
France's climate action strategyBriefing -- Roadmap to EU climate neutrality
Background resources
-
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineProvides sophisticated online recommendations to the core scholarship on a subject as determined by experts in the field. Each module constitutes a convenient and comprehensive introduction to the essential body of literature that has shaped research on a topic. At the click of a mouse, you therefore have 24/7 access to expert recommendations that have been rigorously peer-reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity.
Each OBO subject database allows you to identify the core authors, works, ideas, and debates that have shaped the scholarly conversation so you can find the key literature. All the bibliographic essays have been peer-reviewed, and the specific entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library. The "My OBO" feature also allows you to create a personalized list of citations. -
CQ ResearcherThe CQ Researcher is the perfect answer for people beginning research on current topics. It covers the most current and controversial issues of the day. From Abortion to War, each issue gives you a comprehensive review of the controversies, historical background, chronology of important events, opposing views from experts on the subject, and extensive bibliographies for additional research.
-
Issues and Controversies on FileContains full text articles on current topics of interest, arranged in opposing points of view. It is intended to give users a quick grasp of the essentials of more than 250 controversial news topics. It also contains chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information.
-
Today's Science
- Searchable reference index of articles
- Glossary of scientific terms and biographies on important figures in science
- Draws on major scientific journals, magazines and newspapers in the United States and abroad
- Offers teacher content, including specific National Science Education Standards
-
Points of View Reference SourceProvides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles.
UNC Catalog Search
Suggested catalog subjects: Environmental policy -- European Union countries -- Environmental policy -- France -- History -- Organic Food Production -- Renewable energy -- Environmental sustainability -- Sustainable Agriculture and Europe
Books
-
The External Environmental Policy of the European Union
by
This collection of essays comprehensively and systematically analyzes the various instruments and innovative approaches through which the EU is forging its external environmental policy, the legal implications of its multifaceted practice and interactions with international environmental law. It explains the legal and institutional framework for EU external action on environmental protection and sustainable development, identifying the changes introduced, and challenges posed, by the Lisbon Treaty. It explores key tools and trends in defining and implementing EU external policy across a broad range of environmental issues, as well as linkages with trade and human rights. It also assesses the reciprocal influences between the development and implementation of EU environmental law and of international environmental law.
ISBN: 9781107023826Publication Date: 2012-10-11 -
Fixing the Climate
by
Solving the global climate crisis through local partnerships and experimentation Global climate diplomacy--from the Kyoto Protocol to the Paris Agreement--is not working. Despite decades of sustained negotiations by world leaders, the climate crisis continues to worsen. The solution is within our grasp--but we will not achieve it through top-down global treaties or grand bargains among nations. Charles Sabel and David Victor explain why the profound transformations needed for deep cuts in emissions must arise locally, with government and business working together to experiment with new technologies, quickly learn the best solutions, and spread that information globally. Sabel and Victor show how some of the most iconic successes in environmental policy were products of this experimentalist approach to problem solving, such as the Montreal Protocol on the ozone layer, the rise of electric vehicles, and Europe's success in controlling water pollution. They argue that the Paris Agreement is at best an umbrella under which local experimentation can push the technological frontier and help societies around the world learn how to deploy the technologies and policies needed to tackle this daunting global problem. A visionary book that fundamentally reorients our thinking about the climate crisis, Fixing the Climate is a road map to institutional design that can finally lead to self-sustaining reductions in emissions that years of global diplomacy have failed to deliver.
ISBN: 9780691224541Publication Date: 2022-08-02 -
Learning in Governance
by
An investigation of the role of learning and its impact on policy change, as exemplified in European Union climate policy integration. Although learning is often considered an important factor in effective environmental governance, it is not clear to what extent learning affects decision making and policy outcomes. In this book, Katharina Rietig examines the role of learning-understood as additional knowledge or experience that is taken into account by policymakers-in earth system governance and policy change. She does this by examining learning in European Union climate policy integration, looking in detail at the examples of the Renewable Energy Directive, its controversial biofuels component, and the greening measures in the Common Agricultural Policy. To examine how learning occurs in the policy process, how to differentiate aspects of learning, and under what conditions learning matters for policy outcomes, Rietig introduces the Learning in Governance Framework, applying it to analyze the EU examples. She finds that policy outcomes are affected through leadership of policy entrepreneurs, who use previously acquired knowledge and past experience to achieve outcomes aligned with their deeper beliefs and policy objectives. She concludes that learning does matter in governance as an intervening variable and can affect policy outcomes in combination with dedicated leadership by policy entrepreneurs who act as learning brokers. Bargaining dominates the policymaking process among actors who represent the interests of different organizations. Rietig's theoretical framework, empirical studies, and nuanced analysis offer a new perspective on the relevance of learning in earth system governance.
ISBN: 9780262542975Publication Date: 2021-08-24 -
Camargue, un écosystème entre terre et eau
by
ISBN: 9782759219858Publication Date: 2013 -
The Routledge Handbook of Wine and Culture
by
This title was a prize winner at the OIV (International Organisation of Vine and Wine) Awards 2023. The link between culture and wine reaches back into the earliest history of humanity. The Routledge Handbook of Wine and Culture brings together a newly comprehensive, interdisciplinary overview of contemporary research and thinking on how wine fits into the cultural frameworks of production, intermediation and consumption. Bringing together many leading researchers engaged in studying these phenomena, it explores the different ways in which wine is constructed as a social artefact and how its representation and use acquire symbolic meaning. Wine can be analysed in different ways by varying disciplines involved in exploring wine and culture (anthropology, economics and business, geography, history and sociology, and as text). The Handbook uses these as lenses to consider how producers, intermediaries and consumers use and create cultural significance. Specifically, the work addresses the following: how wine relates to place, belief systems and accompanying rituals; how it may be used as a marker of the identity and mechanisms of civilising processes (often in conjunction with food and the arts); how its framing intersects with science and nature; the ideologies and power relations which arise around all these activities; and the relation of this to wine markets and public institutions. This is essential reading for researchers and students in education for the wine industry and in the humanities and social sciences engaged in understanding patterns of human ingenuity and interaction, such as sociology, anthropology, economics, health, geography, business, tourism, cultural studies, food studies and history.
ISBN: 9781000533958Publication Date: 2022-04-26 -
Sobriété énergétique : contraintes matérielles, équité sociale et perspectives institutionnelles
by
ISBN: 9782759228836Publication Date: 2018 -
L'Europe face au changement climatique
by
ISBN: 9782849345153Publication Date: 2020 -
Towards a Climate-Neutral Europe
by
This book explains the EU's climate policies in an accessible way, to demonstrate the step-by-step approach that has been used to develop these policies, and the ways in which they have been tested and further improved in the light of experience. The latest changes to the legislation are fully explained throughout. The chapters throughout this volume show that no single policy instrument can bring down greenhouse gas emissions. The challenge facing the EU, as for many countries that have made pledges under the Paris Agreement, is to put together a toolbox of policy instruments that is coherent, delivers emissions reductions, and is cost-effective. The book stands out by the fact it covers the EU's emissions trading system, the energy sector and other economic sectors, including their development in the context of international climate policy. This accessible book will be of great relevance to students, scholars and policy makers alike.
ISBN: 9789276092605Publication Date: 2019-11-01 -
Renewable Energies and European Landscapes
by
This book provides timely, multidisciplinary cross-national comparison of the institutional and social processes through which renewable energy landscapes have emerged in Southern Europe. On the basis of case studies in these countries, it analyzes the way in which and the extent to which the development of renewable energies has affected landscape forms and whether or not it has contributed to a reformulation of landscape practices and values in these countries. Landscape is conceived broadly, as a material, social, political and historical process embedded into the local realm, going beyond aesthetic. The case studies analyze renewable energy landscapes in Southern Europe on different political and geographical scales and compare different types of renewable energy such as wind, hydro, solar and biomass power. The contributors are leading experts from Spain, France, Italy and Portugal. The book is intended for researchers, graduate students and professionals interested in geography, landscape and planning.
ISBN: 9789401798426Publication Date: 2015-06-25 -
The Shaping of Environmental Policy in France
by
Drawing on an extensive range of political, legal and sociological materials, the author presents and evaluates environmental policy-making in France at a time when environmental problems are growing in complexity and gravity. He highlights the range of inputs to the policy process - including popular movements, green parties, interest group representation, EU legislation and international treaties - and evaluates the diverse nature of the outcomes which lead him to conclude that because new developments involve not only changes in policy content but also adaptation of policy style, environmental demands are progressively changing the shape of politics itself.
ISBN: 1571819991Publication Date: 2002-02-01 -
Mediterranean Green Buildings and Renewable Energy
by
This book highlights scientific achievements in the key areasof sustainable electricity generation and green building technologies, aspresented in the vital bi-annual World Renewable Energy Network's Med Green Forum.Renewable energy applications in powergeneration and sustainable development have particular importance in the Mediterranean region, withits rich natural resources and conducive climate, making it a perfect showcaseto illustrate the viability of using renewable energy to satisfy all energyneeds. The papers included in this work describe enabling policies and offerpathways to further develop a broad range of renewable energy technologies andapplications in all sectors - for electricity production, heating and cooling,agricultural applications, water desalination, industrial applications and forthe transport sector.
ISBN: 9783319307459Publication Date: 2016-12-14 -
Climate Change and Cultural Transition in Europe
by
Climate Change and Cultural Transition in Europe is an account of Europe's share in the making of global warming, which considers the past and future of climate-society interactions. Contributors include: Clara Brandi, R diger Glaser, Iso Himmelsbach, Claudia Kemfert, Emmanuel Le Roy Ladurie, Claus Leggewie, Franz Mauelshagen, Geoffrey Parker, Christian Pfister, Dirk Riemann, Lea Schmitt, J rn Sieglerschmidt, Markus Vogt, and Steffen Vogt.
ISBN: 9789004356429Publication Date: 2018-02-22
