Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
FREN 370: Les études françaises et francophones jusqu’en 1789 : Littérature et voyage: French resources
Databases and catalogs
- Bibliographie Nationale FrancaiseDescribes books and serials published, printed or distributed in France and received by the Bibliotheque Nationale de France through legal deposit.
- CAIRNFull-text electronic French journals in French and Francophone Studies as well as general humanities and social sciences journals in French.
- GallicaThe French aggregator for the European Digital Library, Europeana. Developed and maintained by the Bibliotheque Nacional de France, Gallica provides access to over one million items, including books, manuscripts, scores, audio files, and more. While Gallica is not exclusively dedicated to Medieval and Early Modern works, it maintains a very strong collection in this time period. The interface is accessible in both English and French.
Reference Works
- Bibliographie de la littérature françaiseRancoeur's bibliography of French books, articles, dissertations, and reviews
The Cambridge History of French Literature by
From Occitan poetry to Francophone writing produced in the Caribbean and North Africa, from intellectual history to current films, and from medieval manuscripts to bandes dessinées, this History covers French literature from its beginnings to the present day. With equal attention to all genres, historical periods and registers, this is the most comprehensive guide to literature written in French ever produced in English, and the first in decades to offer such an array of topics and perspectives. Contributors attend to issues of orality, history, peripheries, visual culture, alterity, sexuality, religion, politics, autobiography and testimony. The result is a collection that, despite the wide variety of topics and perspectives, presents a unified view of the richness of French-speaking cultures. This History gives support to the idea that French writing will continue to prosper in the twenty-first century as it adapts, adds to, and refocuses the rich legacy of its past.
ISBN: 9780521897860Publication Date: 2011-02-24
A New History of French Literature by
Designed for the general reader, this splendid introduction to French literature from 842 A.D.--the date of the earliest surviving document in any Romance language--to the present decade is the most compact and imaginative single-volume guide available in English to the French literary tradition. In fact, no comparable work exists in either language. It is not the customary inventory of authors and titles but rather a collection of wide-angled views of historical and cultural phenomena. It sets before us writers, public figures, criminals, saints, and monarchs, as well as religious, cultural, and social revolutions. It gives us books, paintings, public monuments, even TV shows. Written by 164 American and European specialists, the essays are introduced by date and arranged in chronological order, but here ends the book's resemblance to the usual history of literature. Each date is followed by a headline evoking an event that indicates the chronological point of departure. Usually the event is literary--the publication of an original work, a journal, a translation, the first performance of a play, the death of an author--but some events are literary only in terms of their repercussions and resonances. Essays devoted to a genre exist alongside essays devoted to one book, institutions are presented side by side with literary movements, and large surveys appear next to detailed discussions of specific landmarks. No article is limited to the "life and works" of a single author. Proust, for example, appears through various lenses: fleetingly, in 1701, apropos of Antoine Galland's translation of The Thousand and One Nights; in 1898, in connection with the Dreyfus Affair; in 1905, on the occasion of the law on the separation of church and state; in 1911, in relation to Gide and their different treatments of homosexuality; and at his death in 1922. Without attempting to cover every author, work, and cultural development since the Serments de Strasbourg in 842, this history succeeds in being both informative and critical about the more than 1,000 years it describes. The contributors offer us a chance to appreciate not only French culture but also the major critical positions in literary studies today. A New History of French Literature will be essential reading for all engaged in the study of French culture and for all who are interested in it. It is an authoritative, lively, and readable volume.
ISBN: 9780674615663Publication Date: 1998-08-19
- Le Grand Robert & CollinsOver 80,000 words - the most extensive coverage of any French language dictionary today. The most comprehensive entries: phonetic transcriptions, evolution of form, etymology and dates, precise definitions, and usage - both usual and unusual - of words in their context (speeches, examples, quotations). Over one million analogical cross-references to help readers find their way in the French language. Over 255,000 quotations.
- Le Petit RobertThe latest edition of Le Petit Robert contains all new words and meanings, 60,000 words, 300,000 meanings, 185,000 examples of usage. Etymology, phonetics, synonyms, antonyms, expressions and proverbs and 35,000 quotes from 1,300 authors.