German Newspapers: News from Germany
Newspapers
(Berlin) offers an archive search from 1996 to the present, free full-text content for older issues, access to other full-text is fee-based.
Founded in 1978. Current politics and social issues.
Searchable in Nexis Uni through library catalog.
- 1949-1973 in print
- 1974-to date in microfilm
The largest newspaper in the Rhein- Main area.
Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung
FAZ is a leading national newspaper. The index is searchable through the library catalog.
Offers a search in the archive for free, there is some free content; access to full-text is fee-based.
Sozialistische Tageszeitung (Berlin) offers a search in the archive for free; there is some free content; access to other full-text is fee-based.
Founded in 1945, is the largest national daily. “today’s issue” is freely available; but the next day that content is only available for a fee or with subscription.
- Neues Deutschland Digital ArchiveOfficial daily newspaper of the former German Democratic Republic, published in Berlin 1946-present.
News magazines
Cicero Magazin für politische Kultur
Monthly magazine focusing on politics and culture.
(news journal) a weekly political journal; recent content is only available with a subscription, but the Spiegel Archiv 1947- offers free full-text.
- 1947-2021 in print
(news journal) third largest weekly news magazine; recent content only with subscription.
- 1993 to present online
- 1993-2011 in print
National weekly.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.