Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
ITAL 571: Primo Levi in English: Books & Articles
Finding Books
Searching the Library Catalog: Tips for Finding Books and Articles
Start by entering a few keywords related to your topic in the library catalog search bar. Once you find a relevant item, check the Subject Headings listed in its record, these are standardized terms that link to other materials on similar topics. Clicking on them is a great way to discover related resources.
Example of Subject Headings
"Levi, Primo, 1919-1987 -- Criticism and interpretation"
"Italian prose literature -- 20th century -- History and criticism"
"Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Influence"
"Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Psychological aspects"
You can also narrow or expand your search using the filters (called facets) on the left side of the catalog screen:
- Use "Available Online" to find materials you can access remotely.
- Use "Resource Type" to limit results to books, journals, or government documents.
Search Strategies:
- To find books by a literary author, use an Author search.
- To find books about a literary author, use a Subject search.
You can also combine these terms with other keywords or search your keywords as subjects.
Expanding Your Search:
- Use the catalog’s filters to include results from Duke, NC State, and NCCU Libraries.
- For even broader results, try searching WorldCat, a global catalog of library collections.
-
WorldCatOCLC's WorldCat is the world's largest union catalog containing of millions bibliographic records for items in the collections of thousands of libraries from many countries. This database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries in several hundred languages.
Finding Journals/Secondary Analysis
-
MLA International BibliographyA major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.
-
Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
-
ProQuest One LiteratureIncludes and expands upon resources from ProQuest Literature Online (LION). Includes literary criticism as well as primary texts and reference works. Contains 3 million literature citations from a wide range of sources such as scholarly journals, monographs, and dissertations, along with more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. Features notable collections from Chadwyck-Healey, such as African American Poetry, American Drama, and English Poetry. Provides access to the ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) index of bibliographic citations for literary criticism.
-
JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
-
Gale Literature Resource CenterOffers a wealth of critical and biographical information about more than 120,000 authors from the Classical period to the present. It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, thousands of plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, over 100,000 author biographies, several thousand author portraits, and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
-
Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Reference Resources
-
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineProvides sophisticated online recommendations to the core scholarship on a subject as determined by experts in the field. Each module constitutes a convenient and comprehensive introduction to the essential body of literature that has shaped research on a topic. At the click of a mouse, you therefore have 24/7 access to expert recommendations that have been rigorously peer-reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity.
Each OBO subject database allows you to identify the core authors, works, ideas, and debates that have shaped the scholarly conversation so you can find the key literature. All the bibliographic essays have been peer-reviewed, and the specific entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library. The "My OBO" feature also allows you to create a personalized list of citations.
-
The Legacy of Primo Levi
by
ISBN: 1403981590Publication Date: 2004-12-16
-
A Bibliography of English and Italian Scholarly Writings on Primo Levi, 1985–2002This bibliography represents an initial effort to gather the complete body of scholarly work on Primo Levi, in both English and Italian, dating from just before his death in 1987 to the present.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.