Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
MUSC 120: Foundations of Music: Home
Use this guide for MUSC 120: Foundations in Music
Intro to the Music Library at UNC
Located on the 3rd floor of the Davis Library, the Music Library at UNC serves as a resource to all music related inquiry on campus and across the state of North Carolina. Spanning the length of a football field, the collection contains approximately:
- 75,728 Music Scores
- 59,519 Books
- 56,880 Musical Recordings (which includes CDs, Vinyl Records, 33 1/2 RPM records, and Audiocassette Tapes)
- 1,412 Videos
- 1,064 Periodicals
For assistance, email musiclibraryinfo@unc.edu
Other Helpful Links
-
Davis Library HoursClick here to check the hours of operation for the Davis Library
-
Request a Title for PurchaseClick here to request the purchase of a book, score, or other library resource
-
Music Databases at UNCClick to browse the music-related databases at UNC
-
Dramatic Arts DatabasesClick to browse the dramatic arts-related databases at UNC
-
Reserve a Space at the Music Library's Media RoomClick to reserve a space at the Music Library's Media Rooms
-
Naxos Glossary of Musical TermsUse this online glossary to check the basic definitions of music-related terms
What does a music librarian do?
The job of a music librarian is to assist students, faculty, and researchers find, evaluate, and use music-related resources.
Contact your music librarian if you want help:
- Citing musical materials (like a book, databases entry, score, YouTube video, or podcast)
- Tracking down historical performance recordings
- Exploring specialized music databases
- Preparing program notes for a recital
- Writing a paper or making an annotated bibliography
- Beginning a composition project
- Navigating UNC Library Resources
