SOCI 707: Measurement and Data Collection: Data and Statistics
Local Sources
- Add HealthThe National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health) is a longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of adolescents in grades 7-12 in the United States during the 1994-95 school year. The Add Health cohort has been followed into young adulthood with four in-home interviews, the most recent in 2008, when the sample was aged 24-32. Add Health is re-interviewing cohort members in a Wave V follow-up from 2016-2018 to collect social, environmental, behavioral, and biological data with which to track the emergence of chronic disease as the cohort moves through their fourth decade of life.
U.S. Government Sources
- data.census.govData.census.gov is the primary way to access data from most U.S. Census Bureau surveys and programs. Search for data tables from the American Community Survey, Decennial Census, Economics Census, annual Population Estimates, annual economic surveys, and more. Visit the Census Academy site to learn more about using this tool.
- PolicyMapAccess social, economic, health and demographic data about U.S. communities and markets in this online mapping tool. View data on map, in table or chart format, and download via the sidebar menu. Reports provide a summary snapshot of an area: Community Profile, Community Health Profile, Rental Housing Report, and Housing Mortgage Report.
- Social ExplorerProvides web-based access to United States Census data from 1790 to the present, and to other U.S. and international data, with the ability to make tables and interactive maps easily or export data for analysis. Data include the most commonly used variables and geographies.
Global Sources
- ICPSRThe Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest archive of computer readable social science data. ICPSR provides Web access to data files and documentation for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. The ICPSR data holdings contains more than 500,000 files that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Individual registration and adherence to responsible use statement are required.
Note: Off-campus access available if individual's account is created on campus or while authenticated. - UNdataProvides simultaneous access to 14 statistical databases from the United Nations and other international organizations through one interface. Areas of coverage include agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population, tourism and trade. Includes Millennium Development Goals indicators, and UN Key Global Indicators.
- World Development Indicators (WDI Online)Statistics on development indicators back to 1960 from the World Bank. Time series data cover demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental topics for more than 200 countries and geographic and political groupings of countries. Data are updated quarterly. Access through the online dataBank, or in Excel or CSV formats.
- International Historical StatisticsData from 1750-2010 for most countries around the world. Data that can be downloaded as a pdf or in excel format.
Public Opinion Data
- Roper Center's iPollOffers extensive database of opinion poll datasets. Roper’s iPOLL allows searching at the question level. The Center archives national opinion polls back to 1935, both U.S. and some international polls. Holdings include survey results data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, ABC, CBS, Wall Street Journal and many more. Many datasets are available for instant download in ASCII or SPSS format. Datasets not available for immediate download may be requested from the Center to be queued for digitization.
NOTE: First time users to NEW Roper iPoll need to self-register for access at login. Your credentials from Classic iPOLL will NOT work without new registration as of 8/14/2020. Classic iPOLL will no longer be updated after Sept 1, 2020.
Other Guides
Library Data Services
The Odum Institute
The Odum Institute is located on the second floor of Davis Library. They provide quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods services, training, and consulting. They are a great resource if you are designing a survey, conducting interviews or if you are interested in taking a short course on social science research.
Data Librarian
Michele Hayslett
Contact:
Subjects
Data Management
Numeric Data
Census Data
Locating Data
If you would like to request we acquire data, please carefully read the guidelines at http://library.unc.edu/data/purchase/.
Website
Data Management
Numeric Data
Census Data
Locating Data
If you would like to request we acquire data, please carefully read the guidelines at http://library.unc.edu/data/purchase/.
GIS Librarian
Connect with us
