Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Resources for WUNC Radio News Staff: N.C. News & Info.
N.C. & National News
-
America's News
Over 6,300 U.S. newspapers including 200+ in North Carolina:- The (Raleigh) News & Observer full-text articles (1991-present)
- The (Raleigh) News & Observer full images (March 2018-present)
- The (Greensboro) News & Record (1906-present)
- The Charlotte Observer (1886-present).
-
U.S. NewsstreamIncludes: the New York Times, the Los Angeles Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and thousands more national and international newspapers, wires and some TV / radio transcripts. Dates vary; most from the 1990s to present.
-
Newspaper Source PlusOver 1,500 US and foreign newspapers, including 50 from North Carolina. News transcripts from TV and radio. 1990s-present.
-
InfoTrac Custom NewsstandGreensboro News and Record (1996-), Winston-Salem Journal (1997-), Atlanta Journal Constitution (1996-), and over 150 other regional United States and foreign newspapers.
-
Nexis UniArticles from over 900 English language newspapers and law reviews. Formerly known as LexisNexis.
-
FactivaU.S. newspapers include the Wall Street Journal and other business titles.
Tech Note Go to Search / Search Builder to start searching. More help from: Factiva User Guide from ProQuest (pdf)
Tip See this Search
Daily Tar Heel
- Current issues ... on Facebook... on Twitter ... on YouTube
- Print archive, Sept. 2017 to present.
- Issues on Scribd (full-image of the daily paper), January 2010-April 2017
- Online between 1893-1992 at
- Digital NC (open to all)
- Newspapers.com (UNC login required)
- Bound volumes
- in the North Carolina Collection for "most years;" NCC will refer you to microfilm in most cases.
- in the Park Library. 1927 - spring 2009
- Full issues on microfilm
- in the North Carolina Collection 1893-present (C071 T16). Free registration required to use the NCC; more info
- in Davis Library, 1982-present (Serial 1-1414)
- Headline Archive 1970-2015. Retired May 2020.
- Print Index, August 1970- August 1991 available in Davis (LH1.U6 D34 Index)
- Online historic archives. Dates vary; include 1900s through 1960s. Search via archive.org and download as pdf.
-
Archive.org DTH websiteBrowse some issues of the archived version of the DTH website. 2000-present.
-
Wayback Machine DTHBrowse some issues of the archived version of the DTH on unc.edu. 1997-2000.
North Carolina Historical Resources
-
NCPediaThousands of articles and images relating to North Carolina and its history. Created and maintained by the North Carolina Government & Heritage Library at the State Library of N.C.
-
Southern Oral History Collection (SOHP)
Over 6,000 interviews with people from all walks of life—from mill workers to civil rights leaders to future presidents of the United States. University of North Carolina Chapel Hill. Since 1973.
-
North Carolina Digital CollectionsPhotographs, state government publications, manuscripts, & other resources on topics related to North Carolina. From the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina.
-
Documenting the American SouthAccess to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Includes fourteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. From UNC-Chapel Hill.
Make sure to check each archive's Reproduction and Use guidelines for information about publishing any materials here.
UNC's Anne Gilliland is a great resource as well.
Recording icon by Aybige from NounProject.com
-
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)Search for North Carolina or a city/town or topic. Aggregate of materials from more than 4,000 libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage organizations across the United States.
-
North Carolina Historical ReviewPublishes articles about North Carolina history, as well as a yearly bibliography of books and dissertations about North Carolina. Published by the North Carolina Division of Historical Resources.
N.C. University Archives
-
Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and HistoryFocus on the history of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as the history of Southeast North Carolina and the Lower Cape Fear Region. From the University of North Carolina Wilmington.
-
Western Carolina University - Digital CollectionsIncludes materials about the Cherokee, Civil War, and Crafts in western North Carolina. Some sound recordings are available.
-
UNC Charlotte "Goldmine" ArchiveIncludes motorsports photographs, Harvey Gantt materials, and material about Charlotte, N.C. Select "Resource type" / Sound Recording on the right to browse their audio files.
-
NC State University Libraries' Rare and Unique Digital CollectionsDocumenting NC State and North Carolina through historic photographs, architectural drawings, yearbooks, archival materials, and more.
Includes some sound files.
U.S. Television, 1940s to Present
-
TV NEWS from the Internet Archive350,000 news programs from Al Jazeera America, CBS, CNN, CSPAN, Comedy Central, FOX, KQED, NBC, Telemundo, and Univision. Video in one-minute chunks. June 2009-24 hours ago.
Clips are free online and DVDs may be borrowed for a $25 processing fee (see Stephanie for details).
Search WRAL or WUNC
Try some fancy Google searches to identify stories:
-
AP ArchiveShort videos of news events, sports, fashion, science, and more. From the Associated Press and British Movietone. 1895-present.
Updated Link
-
American Archive of Public BroadcastingPublic television and radio programs from stations across the U.S.. Includes raw interviews from PBS shows and American Masters.Over 4,000 episodes of the PBS Newshour from 1975-2007, plus over 1,000 items from UNC-TV & some materials from WUNC. A collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH.
-
NewsreelsHundreds of newsreels from the 1930s to 1970s on all topics. They cover Nazis, space, Cuba, the Great Depression, … and so much more! More is available on The Newsreel Archive's YouTube channel.
-
C-SPAN Video LibraryOnline video library of all of C-SPAN's content from September 1987 through 2017. Videos include full transcripts. Dates, locations, and timestamps for each clip are included.
NPR Library
Contact the NPR Library for questions about:
- Content aired on NPR shows
- Search strategy advice for a show they will produce and distribute
- Transcription resources
- Permissions
Email: library@npr.org
Phone: (202) 513-2350