Accounting & Tax: Accounting & Tax

Accessed through WRDS. Detailed audit information on over 1,200 accounting firms and 15,000 publicly registered companies. Coverage for most data is 2000 to the present.

Database and research system developed by the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) to pull together authoritative resources about accounting standards into a single, searchable system. Special Note: This resource is only available to UNC Kenan-Flagler Master of Accountancy students. Please contact Professor Tanja Snively or the Kenan-Flagler Librarian David Ernsthausen for the user name and password.

A searchable database of all U.S. Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP) and related literature for state and local governments.

Special Note: This resource is only available to UNC Kenan-Flagler Master of Accountancy students. Please contact Professor Tanja Snively or the Kenan-Flagler Librarian David Ernsthausen for the user name and password.

Provides access to tax laws, forms, instructions and private letter rulings.

Provides searchable full-text of the U.S. Tax Code.

Information on European Union tax and customs issues. Including personal and company taxation, Tariffs and excise taxes, VAT (Value Added Taxes), car taxes, and customs procedures and controls.

Links to state tax agencies' home pages, tax forms and electronic filing sites, information on state tax structures, and more.

Contains regular and memorandum opinions since 1999.

The official site of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Includes the association's monographs and membership information.

Provides current news, standards for government accounting and publications.

Lists U.S. CPA firms by region, state or area code. Also contains approximately 300 international firms.

Official website of the standards board.

Official website of the standards board.

The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is known as "the investigative arm of Congress" and "the congressional watchdog." GAO supports the Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities and helps improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the benefit of the American people.

Provides tips on improving performance and offers professional guidance.

Provides access to the IASB's drafts on proposed rule changes.

"The PCAOB is a nonprofit corporation established by Congress to oversee the audits of public companies in order to protect the interests of investors and further the public interest in the preparation of informative, accurate and independent audit reports. The PCAOB also oversees the audits of broker-dealers, including compliance reports filed pursuant to federal securities laws, to promote investor protection."

From the Securities & Exchange Commission. This site provides access to the full-text of 10-K, Proxies and other reports publicly traded companies are required to file with the SEC.