AAAD 488: Human Rights and Democracy in African Diaspora Communities: Articles and Databases

Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection offers researchers valuable primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more. Users can compare and contrast African American views on practically every major theme of the American past.

Alt-Press Watch provides full text access to alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, publications which bring perspectives, insights, and opinions not often found in mainstream journalism. This product offers over 600,000 articles from over 230 publications.

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690 to the 1920s, provides access to hundreds of thousands of newspaper issues from about 2000 newspapers from Colonial America to the Roaring Twenties. The papers were published in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Searches the full text back files of several major black newspapers, including The Chicago Defender, founded in May 1905 as a weekly newspaper and later expanded to daily publication, and the New York Amsterdam News, founded as a six-page weekly covering local news by James Henry Anderson in 1909.

Fully searchable, primary-source collection of over 130 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. Primarily English language, but a number of Danish, French, and Spanish-language titles are included. Essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.

A cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.

A searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers with online access to more than 280 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.

A searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers with online access to more than 280 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.

Latin American Newsstream provides over 100 full text newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese from across Latin America.

A fully searchable digital archive of historical newspapers. The archive contains newspapers from Europe and the Americas, chiefly from the 19th century, but with some running up to the 2000s. Countries included: UK, USA, Australia, Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, and Mexico.

Note: We are limited to 1 user at a time. Please click on 'Logoff' when you are finished with this resource.

Search hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements. Historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included. Display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.

This collection, containing full-text, "presents a new interpretation of African-American history, one that focuses on the self-motivated activities of peoples of African descent to remake themselves and their worlds." (publisher website). Thirteen migrations are detailed, including the transatlantic slave trade, the domestic slave trade, the "Great Migration" (within the United States), and Caribbean migration.

A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.

Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.

Currently indexes over 380 journals and includes the contents of over 675 journals dating back to our start in the 1970s. Approximately 80% of currently indexed titles include links to full text sources - and many of those are freely available through open access policies.

Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.

Note: Limited to 6 users at a time.

Documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

Database covering over 2500 journals in sociology, both theoretical and applied, and related disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Articles in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.

Provides data on over 35,000 slave ship voyages which forcibly carried over 10 million Africans to the Americas from the early 16th to the mid-19th centuries. You can search for particular voyages, use the African name database of 67,000 names, view and even create maps, retrieve numerical data, read explanatory essays, and find and use lesson plans.

Covers the core literature of the field with links to full text. An interdisciplinary database covering women's issues worldwide.

What is Articles+?
Discover information on any topic from the UNC library collections using simple search technology powered by Summon. Use Articles+ to find:

• Scholarly journal articles
• News articles
• Ebook content
• Dissertations

Just enter your search terms and use the options on the left sides of the results screen to refine your search. From there you can quickly get to the full text online