Brings together two important encyclopedic titles for African studies. The first is 'The African Studies Companion Online,' which brings together a wide range of sources of information in the African studies field. It builds on four previous editions of the African Studies Companion. The second is 'Africa Yearbook Online,' which covers major domestic political developments, the foreign policy and socio-economic trends in sub-Sahara Africa, each of the four sub-regions (West, Central, Eastern, Southern Africa).
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Historical Dictionary of Pre-Colonial Africa by Robert O. Collins
Publication Date: 2001-07-17
The Heart of Darkness, this is the image that most in the West hold of pre-colonial Africa. Joseph Conrad's description of a continent lacking in civilization, commerce, and Christianity is familiar to many readers. Historians have been working to dispel this notion before since the institution of African independence after World War II. Collins seeks to familiarize the reader with pre-colonial Africa, the Africa that began with the migrations of the Bantu from their homeland in 500 B.C. and ended with European control in the 19th century, revealing the culture, events, achievement and rulers of Africa from this time.
Historical Dictionary of Civil Wars in Africa by Guy Arnold
Publication Date: 2007-11-19
Ever since the end of World War II, and even more so since 1960, when seventeen African colonies became independent of colonial rule, the African continent has been ravaged by a series of wars. These wars have ranged from liberation struggles against former colonial powers to power struggles between different factions in the aftermath of independence.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Historiography: Methods and Sources by Thomas Spear
Publication Date: 2019-04-12
The difficulties of exploring African history, especially for earlier periods, have spurred the development of a wide range of methodologies and approaches, such that Wyatt McGaffey once termed it "the decathlon of the social sciences." Historians have long utilized archaeology, ethnography, historical linguistics, and oral traditions in their study of the continent, but are only beginning to explore the possibilities of genetics or many of the techniques used by modern archaeology and other emerging sciences. And as digital sources-from historical documents and statistics to cartographic, climatic, demographic, and environmental modeling-proliferate, so do the problems in using them. The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Historiography: Methods and Sources examines how these developments have influenced the scholarship that historians produce. Such methods continue to evolve, demanding that historians develop basic understandings of them. Thus, the two-volume Encyclopedia builds a theoretical foundation for the field, expanding the ways that Africa can be studied, and recovering the histories of the continent that often appear outside of the documentary record.
Contains biographical profiles of people biographical details on people who either lived in, or were influential in Europe, Africa, Asia, the Australasian-Pacific region, and North and South America from the 1500s to the present.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1500s - present
Africa Past and Present is a podcast about history, culture, and politics in Africa and the diaspora. The show highlights interesting and significant people, ideas, and discussions in African Studies from a wide range of disciplines and perspectives.
Host Judd Devermont, Africa program director at the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) in Washington D.C., sits down with policymakers, journalists, academics and other trailblazers in African affairs to shine a spotlight on the faces spearheading cultural, political, and economic change on the continent.
The African Century
Africa’s economic rise is a world-changing development, but the sources of its emerging strength – and lingering weaknesses – are little understood.The African Century provides a unique platform for debate about the vital issues shaping African societies.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Languages: English, Arabic, Bahasa-Indonesia, Czech, Dutch, French, German, Hindi, Italian, Kazakh, Mandarin, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish Update frequency:daily Coverage: 1994-present