Anatomy Day Materials at the Wilson Special Collections Library: Home
Anatomy Day Materials at Wilson Special Collections Library
This guide serves as a portal into Wilson Special Collections Library material displayed at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's annual Anatomy Day Open House. Anatomy Day takes place in mid-November, and is an opportunity to compare what you’ve seen in the gross anatomy lab with historical representations of human anatomy over the centuries. The 2019 Anatomy Day will take place from noon to 2:00 p.m. on Tuesday, November 12, in the Fearrington Reading Room, Wilson Special Collections Library. The event is free and open the public; no prior registration is required. If you would like to view materials outside of this event, you will need to register and request materials.
Please note that the materials listed below do not represent a complete list of Wilson Special Collections Library materials pertaining to anatomy.
Images from De Humani Corporis Fabrica
Frontispiece
The frontispiece shows Vesalius dissecting a cadaver in a crowded anatomical theater. Of all the figures, only he glances toward the reader, as his right hand points to the body he is dissecting. Before this book was published, depictions of anatomical dissections showed the anatomist at a distance from the cadaver, while lower ranking barbers and surgeons did the actual work of dissection. Here the anatomist stands at the center of the scene, with dissecting instruments close at hand.
Third Skeletal Man
After a chapter explaining how to assemble a skeleton, and another telling how Vesalius stole a skeleton from a gibbet, comes the famous series of three skeletal men. Before a barren landscape, the third skeleton stands slightly bent, with his back to the viewer, and hands near his face, a pose suggesting grief or pain.
Manikins
White's Physiological Manikin
Life-size chromolithographic anatomical chart, consisting of basic image with superimposed multiple series of hinged flaps illustrating tissue groups, sectional views of the body, internal organs and muscles, with metal tabs to hold flaps in place when not in use; the whole mounted in a double wooden frame, hinged to fold into a protective case.
Manuscript Collections
- Frank H. Netter PapersFrank H. Netter was a physician and illustrator whose anatomy pictures appeared in numerous publications. This collection also contains over 4,000 of his original sketches that cover all aspects of human anatomy, medical conditions and procedures.
Manikins
- Pilz anatomical manikin [male] byCall Number: QS 17 P643 1910Publication Date: 1910Folding portfolios containing life-sized, full-color anatomical manikins printed on paper first appeared in France, Italy and Germany in the early 1800s, and served as the basis for the two-dimensional teaching models still in use today. This model folds out to form three identically sized anatomical men: the circulatory system in the closed position, a posterior view of the muscles on the left flaps, the nervous system on the right flaps, and a skeleton showing the major organs in the final (fully opened) position.
- White's Physiological manikin byCall Number: QS 17 W585 1889Publication Date: 1889Life-size chromolithographic anatomical chart, consisting of basic image with superimposed multiple series of hinged flaps illustrating tissue groups, sectional views of the body, internal organs and muscles, with metal tabs to hold flaps in place when not in use; the whole mounted in a double wooden frame, hinged to fold into a protective case.
Books
- Andreae Vesalii Bruxellensis ... De humani corporis fabrica libri septem byCall Number: QM21 .V48 1568Publication Date: 156812 unnumbered pages, 510 pages, 45 unnumbered pages : illustrations ; 33 cm
- La dissection des parties du corps humain diuisee en trois liures byCall Number: QM33.5 .E87, superv'dPublication Date: 1546405 pages : illustrations ; 40 cm
- The anatomical basis of medical practice byCall Number: QS 4 B396a 1971Publication Date: 1971xv, 907 pages : illustrations (some color) ; 29 cm
- Tabulae anatomicae clarissimi viri Bartholomaei Eustachii ... byCall Number: QS 4 E91 1722Publication Date: 1722xliv, 115 pages, 11 unnumbered page, xxxxvii leaves of plates : illustrations ; 36 cm
- Anatomy : descriptive and surgical byCall Number: QS 4 G779an 1858Publication Date: 1858750 pages : illustrations ; 26 cm
- Mon docteur : encyclopédie moderne de médecine et d'hygiène, méthodes scientifiques et pratiques byCall Number: QS 4 M734 1949Publication Date: [1949]2 volumes (1431 pages), 31 unnumbered leaves of plates (some folded) : illustrations (some color) ; 25 cm
- Anotomia del corpo humano di Giouanni Valuerde byCall Number: QS 4 V215a 1606Publication Date: 160618 unnumbered pages, 154 pages, 4 unnumbered leaves : illustrations, 1 portrait ; 31 cm
- De humani corporis fabrica libri septem byCall Number: QS 4 V575 1543 superv'dPublication Date: 1543659 (that is, 663) pages : illustrations (some color), portrait (some color) ; 38 cm
- Topographische Anatomie des Menschen, Lehrbuch und Atlas der Regiönar-Stratigraphischen Práparation byCall Number: QS 17 P452tPublication Date: 1943-illustrations ; 30 cm
- Praktischer Hausschatz der Heilkunde byCall Number: WB 130 B499p 1920Publication Date: 1920xvi, 844 pages, 20 pages, 29 unnumbered leaves of plates (1 folded), 31 pages of plates : illustrations (some folded) ; 26 cm
- De hersenen en de zintuigen van den mensch byCall Number: WE 700 C822h 1898Publication Date: 189832 pages, 5 unnumbered leaves of plates : illustrations (some in color) ; 26 cm
- De bloedsomloop en de spijsvertering van den mensch byCall Number: WE 710 C822b 1901Publication Date: 190133 pages, 3 unnumbered leaves of plates : illustrations (some in color) ; 26 cm
- L'uomo : qual' è la struttura del nostro corpo e come funzionano i nostri organi byCall Number: WE 710 E15u 1893Publication Date: 189318 pages, 1 unnumbered leaf of plates : illustrations (some in color) ; 25 cm
- Anatomie en physiologie van de vrouwelijke geslachtsorganen en van de zwangerscahp byCall Number: WP 120 G472a 1930Publication Date: 193032 pages, 1 unnumbered leaf of plates : illustrations (some color) ; 27 cm
- De vrouw : haar bouw en haar inwendige organen byCall Number: WP 120 J17v 1898Publication Date: 189845 pages, 3 unnumbered pages, 1 unnumbered leaf of color plates : illustrations ; 27 cm
- Tables of the skeleton and muscles of the human body ... byCall Number: WZ 260 .A337t 1749Publication Date: 174947 unnumbered leaves, [40] leaves of plates : illustrations ; 75 cm (1⁰)
- The anatomy of the humane body byCall Number: WZ 260 C499a 1713Publication Date: 1713xiii [that is xxiii] pages, 269 pages, 2 unnumbered pages, XXIII leaves of plates (2 folded) : illustrations (engravings) ; 21 cm (8vo)
- The anatomy of the absorbing vessels of the human body byCall Number: WZ 260 C955a 1790Publication Date: 1790viii, 214 pages, 6 unnumbered leaves of plates : illustrations (some folded) ; 28 cm (4to)
- Icones anatomicae quibus praecipuae aliquae partes corporis humani delineatae proponuntur & arteriarum potissimum historia continetur byCall Number: WZ 260 H185i 1756Publication Date: 17568 volumes : 47 illustrations ; 48 cm (folio)
- Viri celeberrimi Antonii Mariae Valsalvae Opera byCall Number: WZ 260 V214 1740Publication Date: 17403 volumes : 13 folded illustrations, portrait ; 28 cm (4to)
- Tabulae anatomicae byCall Number: WZ 290 P626t 1741Publication Date: 1741[2], 84 pages 27 plates 44 cm
