Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Astronomy: Articles
Articles+
Using Find @ UNC
If an article search indicates we don't have an item:
1) Click the 
button.
2) If available, click an article link, if not, click the journal link.
3) Can't find it? Request it from another library through Interlibrary Loan.
Find E-Journals
Recommended Article Databases
For tips on finding articles, try our Science Research tutorial.
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
- NASA Astrophysics Data SystemThe Digital Library for Physics, Astrophysics, and Instrumentation, the Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains searchable bibliographic databases for these fields and provides full-text scans of some scholarly astronomical literature.
- IEEE Xplore
- Access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
- Contains Full-text IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and all current IEEE standards since 1988, plus select content back to 1950
- Full text access to documents from major publication, including charts, graphs, diagrams, photographs, and illustrative material
- Content from scientific journals, conference proceedings, technical standards, eBooks and educational courses
- Unlimited access to a subset of the INSPEC bibliographic and abstract database
NOTE:Before beginning any text and data mining projects, UNC users should notify the Libraries at researchassistance@unc.edu. - SPIE Digital Library
- Collection from the professional society dedicated to optics and photonics
- Peer-reviewed articles on applied research in optics and photonics
- Access to monographs, reference works, field guides and ebooks
- Access to technical papers from SPIE (Society of Photographic Instrumentation Engineers ) journals and conference proceedings from 1990 to the present
- ProQuest Science JournalsApplied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
- Earth ArXivOpen Access pre-print service for earth sciences.
- ESSOAr - Earth and Space Science Open ArchiveOpen Access pre-print server on the subject of earth and space science.
