Biology: Handbooks, Data & Protocols
Handbooks
- MSDS plus CHEMINFOA comprehensive collection of over 200,000 Material Safety Data Sheets for chemicals and commercial products. Each MSDS is presented exactly as provided by the manufacturer/supplier and contains chemical and physical properties, health hazards, first aid recommendations, personal protection, fire and reactivity data, spill and disposal procedures, and storage/handling recommendations. This database also includes CHEMINFO, which contains chemical profile information for more than 1,300 important workplace chemicals.
Note: UNC-Chapel Hill Department of Environment, Health & Safety is the subscriber to this database. Please contact the Dept. if you have questions about the database or other items related to chemical hygiene.
Finding Data
These are just a few of the resources you can use to locate research data. Guidelines for citing data sets vary; see specific data resources for more information about citations.
- BioRxivA preprint server for manuscripts and supplemental data in biology.
- re3data
- Global registry of research data repositories.
- Consolidated registry of Databib and re3data.org.
- Subject area is broad including the humanities, sciences, medicine and technology.
- Useful for finding appropriate repositories for the storage and access of data sets.
- DataCite SearchDataCite is an international organization that seeks to promote data access and reuse by making data sets "citable" and linking data to journal articles. This search tool allows researchers to search for data sets by author, keyword, and more.
- DryadThis open-access repository for scientific and medical data allows searching of data sets and links data to original publications.
- FigshareFigshare is a web service that makes data "citable, searchable, and shareable." Research data in a variety of formats is freely available through the figshare search tool and is protected under a Creative Commons copyright license.
- NIH Data Sharing RepositoriesA summary of data repositories supported by the NIH, with information about how to submit and access datasets from NIH-funded research.
Data Management
Research Data Toolkit
A guide to the issues involved in research data management and links to UNC resources for data management and data management plans.
Carolina Digital Repository
The CDR provides access and preservation services for all kinds of digital work produced by the UNC community, including scholarly publications and datasets.
Lab Protocols
- Nature ProtocolsA journal publishing protocols primarily in biology and chemistry, online accessible from 2006 - present.
- Cold Spring Harbor protocolsArchive of protocols and research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)A peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal publishing biological research in a video format; focuses on life science and biomedical research and research methods, allowing life scientists to more easily earn, perfect, and apply new experimental techniques. Fully available sections: JoVE Medicine, JoVE Biology, JoVE Bioengineering, JoVE Neuroscience, JoVE Immunology & Infection.
