AAAD 485: Transnational Black Feminist Thought and Practice: Books and Articles
UNC Catalog Search with Links
Relevant Search Terms
Our collections and most U.S. academic libraries use the classification system and subject headings authorized by the Library of Congress.
Search tip: A great way to find possible subject headings is by looking at the full record of a relevant resource that you have already identified and found in the library catalog.
"African American women -- Intellectual life"
"African American women -- Intellectual life -- 20th century" (Note that you can add a specific century.)
"African American intellectuals"
"African Americans -- Education (Higher)"
"Women, Black -- Political activity"
"African American women -- Political activity"
"African American women -- Political activity -- History."
"African American women -- Health and hygiene"
"African American women -- Social conditions"
"African American women -- Music -- History and criticism"
"African American women musicians"
"Transnationalism" (You will need to refine your search given the number of results you will have)
"Transnationalism -- Political aspects"
"Transnationalism -- Social aspects"
"Black lives matter movementBlack lives matter movementUnited States"
"Sexual and Gender Minorities"
Journal Articles
- Archives of African American Music and CultureEstablished in 1991, the Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC) is a repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era. The collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop. The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of black radio.
- Gale Primary Sources: Archives of Sexuality & GenderPrimary source collection (16th century to 2014) for LGBTQIA+, gender, and sexuality studies, sourced from American, Australian, British, Canadian, and South African Archives. Consists of three series: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 (1940-2014); Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; and International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture (20th century).
- Black Thought and CultureA landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major black leaders in North America. Works by teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures form the corpus. Unlike their white counterparts, black leaders have had to wrestle with the issues of their race alongside the issues of leadership in their chosen professions. They have been forced to defend positions, justify actions, correct perceptions, protest injustice, celebrate cultural achievement, and confront the agenda of a white-dominated society.
- GenderWatchFull-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
- Global HealthA public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. More than 2.6 million records from 1973 to the present day sourced from over 7,000 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic publications and other hard-to-find resources. Publications from over 100 countries in 52 languages. Over 185,000 records added each year.
- International Index to Black Periodicals Full TextIncludes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the US, Africa, and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward). Subject coverage is wide-ranging and multidisciplinary, crossing the humanities and the social sciences as they relate to Black Studies. (Source: vendor information)
- Women's Studies InternationalInterdisciplinary, international database covering the core literature of the field of women's and gender studies with links to full text.
Expand Your Search
On the left sidebar of the online catalog, you will find the option to search for resources within the UNC, Duke, and NC State libraries.
Books Beyond Carolina
Triangle Research Libraries Network
A searchable catalog of the holdings of Duke, UNC-CH, NCCU, NCSU libraries.
A searchable electronic union catalog listing more than 40 million records owned by libraries around the world.
Locates needed materials in other libraries, borrows books and microform and obtains photocopied material on behalf of eligible UNC users.
Digital Collections
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 8,000,000 fully accessible public domain eBooks.
