Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

ENGL105: Researching Historian's Film Review: 3) Finding Secondary Sources

Need help finding primary and secondary sources for your Unit 3 film review assignment? This guide provides helpful links to historical databases.

Secondary sources

Cambridge Histories Online
Offers access to nearly 140 titles and over 320 volumes of the famed Cambridge History series. The texts provide up to date, scholarly, and authoritative content.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
History Search: America, History & Life/Historical Abstracts
Allows you to search America History & Life and Historical Abstracts either together or separately. America History and Life, is an index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. Historical Abstracts, covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Credo Reference
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).