HIST 062.001: Nations, Borders, and Identities (FYS): Books & Articles
Finding Books
Start with a keyword search in the catalog. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the Subjects in the record and follow those links to find related books.
You can refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen. Use the "Available Online" filter to limit to materials that may be accessed remotely. Under "Resource Type" you can restrict your results to books, journals, or government documents.
Sample Subjects:
North America -- Mexican-American Border Region
Korean Demilitarized Zone (Korea)
Berlin Wall, Berlin, Germany, 1961-1989
Palestine -- History -- Partition, 1947
India -- History -- Partition, 1947
Ireland -- History -- Partition, 1921
Indigenous peoples of North America -- Treaties
You can also pair these suggested subject headings with additional keywords on specific aspects of your topic.
To find primary resources, you can add any of the following keywords to your search: letters, diaries, speeches, newspaper articles, autobiographies, oral histories, government and organizational records, statistical data, maps, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, advertisements, artifacts, etc.
Finding Journals/Secondary Analysis
- Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
- History Search: America, History & Life/Historical Abstracts
Allows you to search America History & Life and Historical Abstracts either together or separately. America History and Life, is an index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. Historical Abstracts, covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Reference
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineProvides sophisticated online recommendations to the core scholarship on a subject as determined by experts in the field. Each module constitutes a convenient and comprehensive introduction to the essential body of literature that has shaped research on a topic. At the click of a mouse, you therefore have 24/7 access to expert recommendations that have been rigorously peer-reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity.
Each OBO subject database allows you to identify the core authors, works, ideas, and debates that have shaped the scholarly conversation so you can find the key literature. All the bibliographic essays have been peer-reviewed, and the specific entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library. The "My OBO" feature also allows you to create a personalized list of citations.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the material you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Subject Specific Databases
We have additional history specific databases, as well as hundreds of databases covering other fields.
- UNC databases for HistoryA collection of databases that cover general history. (See E-Research by Discipline for specific areas of focus within History)
- E-Research by DisciplineSelect a subject area from this list to find the top resources for each discipline.