CHEM 541L - Intermediate Analytical Chemistry Laboratory: Home
Material Safety Data Sheets
Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) contain information on chemicals and their properties along with health, physical, and environmental hazards. As they are provided by manufacturers, there is no centralized location so you may have to look in multiple places.
Where to Find MSDS on the Internet
A guide to finding MSDS. Also includes MSDS-related news and updates.
MSDS Sources to Start With
MSDS Search (National MSDS Repository)
Vermont SIRI MSDS Collection
About this Guide
This guide will help you find library resources for your analytical chemistry laboratory course including:
- Information Resources
- Finding Patents
- Writing Help
- Citation Management
- ChemDraw
- Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
- Additional Help
Information Resources
If you don't have a SciFinder account, register here.
- SciFindernTool for scientist, contains information on chemical reactions, substances and references. Information on organic and inorganic substances and sequences. Broad range of scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science
- REAXYSA search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data, and chemical reactions in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry. Site interface allows search for chemicals by keyword and provides in depth detail for results. Reaxys integrates content from three major data sources: Beilstein, Gmelin, and the Chemical Patent Database
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present.
Finding Patents
- The USPTO Patent DatabasesSearch the full text of patents 1976 - present; patents issued 1790 - 1975 are searchable by patent number or issue date. The Patent Application Database contains all patent applications published since 2001.
- EspacenetA free patent search tool, including 80 million patent documents from the European Patent Office, the USPTO, and other countries worldwide, searchable by full text.
- The LensA patent search database including records from patent offices worldwide. It also allows searching of gene sequences.
Writing Help
Writing help
- Write like a Chemist - guide to chemistry-specific writing
- ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication - A style guide for writing in the sciences.
- UNC Writing Center - get help writing your papers, both in-person or asynchronously.
- UNC Writing Center Tips & Tools handouts
Science Libraries Chat
Science Librarian
orcid.org/0000-0001-5494-4574Additional Help
Here are several library guides that offer other types of help:
- Design Guide for Academic Posters - Tips and tricks on how to make your academic poster stand out!
Getting help:
- Data Analysis (Python, R, Excel) - Matt Jansen
- Online Statistical Support - Odum Institute (located in Davis Library)
ChemDraw
To request access to ChemDraw, go to the following site, login with your onyen and password, and follow the instructions. You will receive an access code via email to permit you to use the program.
Chem Draw is also available on the public computers in the Kenan Science Library and through the ITS Virtual Lab.
