ENGL 425 : Literature, Archives, and Original Research: Newspapers and Other Primary Sources

Search hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.

A rich collection of primary source materials for in-depth study of the history of the United States. Component parts include: America’s Historical Imprints, Afro-Americana Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1535-1922, America's Historical Newspapers, African American NewspapersSeries 1, 1827-1998, Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876, and African American Periodicals 1825-1995.

America's News is the most comprehensive U.S.newspaper resource available. It provides information on people, issues, and events in the local area or around the country. Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers - with 75% of these sources not available in any other library database.

Contains over 1,000 journals published between 1740 and 1900.  American Periodicals From the Center for Research Libraries provides full text to nearly 400 journals.  The collection contains special interest and general magazines, labor and trade publications, scientific and literary journals, and photographic periodicals,. See "About" within the database for a fuller description.

An online collection of British magazines, journals and specialty newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals provides an in-depth view of British life in the Romantic & Victorian age.  Series I: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humor and Leisure/Sport. Series II: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial.

Partnering with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, EBSCO provides digital access to this comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.

Primary source materials on children’s literature and print culture from the Children’s Literature and Graphic Arts collections held by the American Antiquarian Society. The collection, covering 1810s-1920s, focuses on the output of New York publisher McLoughlin Bros and competitors such as Fisher & Brother and E.P. Dutton, but also includes publications from a selection of European publishers. In addition to books, the collection includes religious tracts, original artwork, photographs, sheet music, exemplars of games and toys, as well as archival materials dealing with the operations of McLoughlin Bros.

Everyday Life and Women in America, c.1800-1920 comprises thousands of fully searchable images of rare books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. Material is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasising contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Provides access to 40 million full-text images and text-searchable pages of nearly 180,000 English-language titles and editions (200,000 volumes) published between 1701-1800.

Primary source materials from the archive of the John Murray publishing company, held at the National Library of Scotland, from its inception in 1786 through the long nineteenth century. A highlight of the collection are the manuscripts and personal papers of Lord Byron.