AM Primary Sources: History - Latin American History

This collection focuses on European maritime exploration from the voyages of Vasco da Gama and Christopher Columbus, through the age of discovery, to the eventual discovery of the Northwest and Northeast Passages, and the race for the Poles. Coverage is from 1410-1920 and includes ships' logs and journals, correspondence and travel accounts, and an interactive map with in-depth visualisation of over 50 voyages.

Colonial America makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence of the colonial governments with the British govenment, specifically the Board of Trade, the Secretary of State for the Southern Department and the Secretary of State for the Colonies, together holding responsibility for the British possessions in mainland North America and the Caribbean.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America, and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism and the nuclear bomb. The bulk of the material covers the late nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth century.

Covers 500 years of the rise and fall of empires, this features a wide variety of material, including exploration journals & logs; correspondence; periodicals; diaries; government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; memoirs; fiction; children's adventure stories; folk tales; exhibition catalogs; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and illustrations, with many in color.

Primary sources documenting the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia, concentrating on the 19th and 20th centuries, and dealing with immigration, refugees, labor migration, immigration politics, religious, ethnic and community relations, and responses to emigration from local and indigenous communities. Includes personal accounts, oral histories, correspondence, printed books, pamphlets, leaflets, reports, shipping papers, logbooks and plans, photographs, maps, and ephemera.

Designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, brings together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.