Research Methods for History: Database Guide

An index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. America, History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (Source: vendor website.)

Note: Limited to 6 users at a time.

Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.

Note: Limited to 6 users at a time.

Allows you to search America History & Life and Historical Abstracts either together or separately. America History and Life, is an index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. Historical Abstracts, covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

Search hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.

Provides sophisticated online recommendations to the core scholarship on a subject as determined by experts in the field. Each module constitutes a convenient and comprehensive introduction to the essential body of literature that has shaped research on a topic. At the click of a mouse, you therefore have 24/7 access to expert recommendations that have been rigorously peer-reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity.

Each OBO subject database allows you to identify the core authors, works, ideas, and debates that have shaped the scholarly conversation so you can find the key literature. All the bibliographic essays have been peer-reviewed, and the specific entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library. The "My OBO" feature also allows you to create a personalized list of citations.

Offers access to nearly 140 titles and over 320 volumes of the famed Cambridge History series. The texts provide up to date, scholarly, and authoritative content.

Serves as a single point of entry that provides online access to descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide. Allows discovery of information about primary source materials - both personal papers and corporate records.

Search hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.

Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres. Similar to African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, this new collection is based upon James P. Danky's monumental African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998).

Partnering with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, EBSCO provides digital access to this comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.

Contains over 1,000 journals published between 1740 and 1900.  American Periodicals From the Center for Research Libraries provides full text to nearly 400 journals.  The collection contains special interest and general magazines, labor and trade publications, scientific and literary journals, and photographic periodicals,. See "About" within the database for a fuller description.

British Periodicals I and II includes the searchable full text and facsimile page images of 500 periodicals published between 1681 and 1921, a significant time not only for British history, but, given the growth and dominance of the British Empire for most of that period, world history. British Periodicals III extends the scope of British Periodicals by focusing on the first half of the twentieth century. All of this content is available in full page images with searchable full text.

Currently indexes over 380 journals and includes the contents of over 675 journals dating back to our start in the 1970s. Approximately 80% of currently indexed titles include links to full text sources - and many of those are freely available through open access policies.

Contains articles, illustrations, cartoons, and maps drawn from rare periodicals and campaign newspapers representing Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British viewpoints. Published between 1860 and 1865, the titles enable users to browse issues week by week to follow the election of Lincoln in 1860; the subsequent course of the Civil War from Fort Sumter through Appomattox; Lincoln's re-election in 1864; his assassination in 1865; and the beginning of Reconstruction under President Andrew Johnson. In addition Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines contains dozens of scholarly contributions, including an introduction by the Pulitzer Prize-winning scholar, James McPherson, making the database the definitive online Civil War media resource.

Provides access to the full text of some significant and not widely held women's periodicals produced in the period 1786-1933; strong for writing relating to suffrage.

An online collection of British magazines, journals and specialty newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals provides an in-depth view of British life in the Romantic & Victorian age.  Series I: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humor and Leisure/Sport. Series II: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial.

Provides access to millions of articles in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 2000, many of which are not in English.

A retrospective full text collection of more than 100 jazz periodicals from the 1910s to the 1990s, including such standard works as Downbeat and Record Research. Covers many short run and rare titles that are hard to find elsewhere.

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690 to the 1920s, provides access to hundreds of thousands of newspaper issues from about 2000 newspapers from Colonial America to the Roaring Twenties. The papers were published in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

A collection of national, regional, and local newspapers from Britain (1732-1950) and Ireland (1797-1950), sourced from the British Library.

Fully searchable, primary-source collection of over 130 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. Primarily English language, but a number of Danish, French, and Spanish-language titles are included. Essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.

Consists of articles reporting on the Civil War from important newspapers as well as first-person accounts of the soldiers and officers who fought in the conflict.

Allows you to cross-search a variety of newspaper and periodical databases: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, British Newspapers, 1780 1950, Times (London) Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, Financial Times Historical Archive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, and Economist Historical Archive.

The Guardian and The Observer are two major newspapers from the United Kingdom, and offer additional perspective to that of the Times of London.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project," a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos, this digital resource is the first in a new American Ethnic Newspapers series, available within America's Historical Newspapers.

The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.

This collection comprises 25 newspapers produced by Japanese-Americans held in relocation camps in the United States during World War II.

A searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers with online access to more than 280 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.

Available through the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database, offers over 3 million pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper, from 1851 to 2 or 3 years ago. Researchers can use the images to find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.

Provides access to about 500 newspapers from localities all across the United States during the 19th Century. Also searchable from within Gale Artemis: Primary Sources.

This collection contains both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theaters around the world. Publications are included from the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East. Both Allied and Axis publications are presented, offering a broad view of the war and the experiences of those on its front lines.

Documents 200 years of cultural, political, social and historical events. This database is also searchable via British Newspapers, 1600 - 1950, and also via Gale Artemis: Primary Sources.

Offers segments of four 18th Century South Carolina Newspapers: South Carolina Gazette; South Carolina & American General Gazette; South Carolina Gazette and Country Journal; Gazette of the State of South Carolina.This collection contains a wealth of information on colonial and early American History and genealogy, and provides an accurate glimpse of life in South Carolina and America, with additional coverage of events in Europe, during the early days of this country.The South Carolina Gazette — 1732–1775The South Carolina & American General Gazette — 1764–1775The South Carolina Gazette & Country Journal — 1765–1775The Gazette of the State of South-Carolina — 1777–1780

The Wall Street Journal: Eastern Edition is the financial newspaper of record. It provides business, financial, and world news coverage, personal and company profiles, feature reporting, special reports, and regular columns. Is it published 6 days a week.

Offers hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper from 1877 to 1990. Researchers and students can use the images to find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.

Online database of digitized historical newspapers covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Focus is on Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, and South Asia. Covers 19th and 20th centuries, and includes some of these regions’ largest and most important newspapers.

Provides the full text of three print Brill encyclopedias - Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage (2009) , Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle (2010), Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450 (2012).

Descriptive data and images related to the iconography of works of art produced between late Antiquity and the sixteenth century. Although the Index of Medieval Art was formerly known as the Index of Christian Art, it now includes secular subjects as well as a growing number of subjects from medieval Jewish and Islamic culture.

The International Medieval Bibliography covers the European Middle Ages (c 450-1500) and indexes periodicals, books, essay collections, etc.

Note: Please click on the 'Enter Databases' link. Then select 'International Medieval Bibliography - Online'.

Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit partnership dedicated to the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development and distribution of online resources. (Vendor Website)

Five major family letter collections from the 15th century England: Paston Family Papers, Cely Family Papers, Plumpton Correspondence, Stonor Correspondence and Amburgh Family Papers.

Provides direct access to a widely scattered collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages.  Included are translations and supporting materials (all of which are fully searchable); maps showing the routes of the travelers; introductory essays by leading scholars.

Colonial America makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence of the colonial governments with the British govenment, specifically the Board of Trade, the Secretary of State for the Southern Department and the Secretary of State for the Colonies, together holding responsibility for the British possessions in mainland North America and the Caribbean.

"Digitized copies of approximately 128,000 titles included in the two Short-Title Catalogues [see below], in the Thomason Collection ... Although most of the images are captured from the microfilms that make up Early English Books, 1475–1640 and Early English Books, 1641–1700 ... and thus are not searchable, an increasing number of titles (approximately 44,000 of a planned 69,000) can be searched by keyword in a rekeyed full text." (James Harner, Literary Research Guide) Consult About EEBO in the database to check the status.

Covers 500 years of the rise and fall of empires, this features a wide variety of material, including exploration journals & logs; correspondence; periodicals; diaries; government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; memoirs; fiction; children's adventure stories; folk tales; exhibition catalogs; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and illustrations, with many in color.

Complete facsimile images of over 230 manuscripts written or compiled by women living in the British Isles from 1500-1700. Contents include account books, advice, meditations, receipts, travel writing, and verse. Perdita manuscripts can be searched by name, genre, and first lines of both poetry and prose.

Documents 200 years of cultural, political, social and historical events. This database is also searchable via British Newspapers, 1600 - 1950, and also via Gale Artemis: Primary Sources.

Collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.

Note: For access on campus or off campus, user is currently required to log in through UNC authentication screen.

Papers and records of the Virginia Company of London documenting the development of the Colony of Virginia and colonization of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas, 1890-1790.

Colonial America makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence of the colonial governments with the British govenment, specifically the Board of Trade, the Secretary of State for the Southern Department and the Secretary of State for the Colonies, together holding responsibility for the British possessions in mainland North America and the Caribbean.

"A bibliographical database and digital archive based on Evans, American Bibliography, and Bristol’s Supplement ... that reproduces the c. 37,000 works in the original microprint and microform version of Early American Imprints along with 1,080 additional titles; the Supplements add nearly 2,000 titles." (James harner, Literary Research Guide)  EAP I is a subset of America's Historical Imprints, in turn a subset of the Archive of Americana.

Provides access to 40 million full-text images and text-searchable pages of nearly 180,000 English-language titles and editions (200,000 volumes) published between 1701-1800.

Bringing together rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

Covers 500 years of the rise and fall of empires, this features a wide variety of material, including exploration journals & logs; correspondence; periodicals; diaries; government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; memoirs; fiction; children's adventure stories; folk tales; exhibition catalogs; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and illustrations, with many in color.

Allows you to cross-search a variety of newspaper and periodical databases: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, British Newspapers, 1780 1950, Times (London) Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, Financial Times Historical Archive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, and Economist Historical Archive.

Index of over 1,000 volumes of published and unpublished Canadian and American women's diaries and correspondence from Colonial times through 1950.

Documents 200 years of cultural, political, social and historical events. This database is also searchable via British Newspapers, 1600 - 1950, and also via Gale Artemis: Primary Sources.

Collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.

Note: For access on campus or off campus, user is currently required to log in through UNC authentication screen.

A collection of national, regional, and local newspapers from Britain (1732-1950) and Ireland (1797-1950), sourced from the British Library.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America, and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism and the nuclear bomb. The bulk of the material covers the late nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth century.

"A bibliographical database and digital archive based on Shaw and Shoemaker, American Bibliography, that reproduces the c. 36,000 works in the original microprint and microform version of Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (New Canaan: Readex) along with about 975 additional titles (however, the microprint and microform collection omits serial publications listed in Shaw-Shoemaker); the Supplement adds nearly 2,000 titles. " (James Harner, Literary Reseearch Guide)  EAP II is a subset of America's Historical Imprints, in turn a subset of the Archive of Americana.

Covers 500 years of the rise and fall of empires, this features a wide variety of material, including exploration journals & logs; correspondence; periodicals; diaries; government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; memoirs; fiction; children's adventure stories; folk tales; exhibition catalogs; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and illustrations, with many in color.

Everyday Life and Women in America, c.1800-1920 comprises thousands of fully searchable images of rare books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. Material is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasising contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Allows you to cross-search a variety of newspaper and periodical databases: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, British Newspapers, 1780 1950, Times (London) Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, Financial Times Historical Archive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, and Economist Historical Archive.

Harper's Weekly was one of the most important serials of nineteenth-century America, because it provided detailed information about cultural, military, political, and social issues. Its illustrations helped readers visualize current events. Its editorials were a major force in shaping public opinion in the North. The three parts of HarpWeek, an indexed, full-text database of Harper's Weekly, provide searchable access to the events, people, and culture of the "Civil War Era, 1857-1865"; "Reconstruction I, 1866-1871"; and "Reconstruction II, 1872-1877."

A primary source collection dealing with the evolution of European and American working class tourism between 1850 and 1980s. Includes guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals that provide insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.

Primary sources on the social history of 19th century London, sourced from Lilly Library, Indiana University.

Primary source collection focusing on medicine in the Crimean War, the American Civil War and the First World War, among other conflicts. The impact on medicine during peacetime is also covered, notably through documents relating to the influenza epidemic of 1918 and post-war rehabilitation. Includes hospital reports and registers, correspondence, memoirs and diaries, printed books and periodicals, photographs, maps, other illustrative material and ephemera.

Primary sources documenting the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia, concentrating on the 19th and 20th centuries, and dealing with immigration, refugees, labor migration, immigration politics, religious, ethnic and community relations, and responses to emigration from local and indigenous communities. Includes personal accounts, oral histories, correspondence, printed books, pamphlets, leaflets, reports, shipping papers, logbooks and plans, photographs, maps, and ephemera.

A large, deep, and rich collection of primary sources documenting the 'long 19th Century.' Materials include books, newspapers, periodicals, diaries, photographs, pamphlets, maps, and more. See "About" within the database for fuller description. Also searchable from within: Gale Artemis: Primary Sources.

Provides access to about 500 newspapers from localities all across the United States during the 19th Century. Also searchable from within Gale Artemis: Primary Sources.

An online collection of British magazines, journals and specialty newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals provides an in-depth view of British life in the Romantic & Victorian age.  Series I: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humor and Leisure/Sport. Series II: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial.

Index of over 1,000 volumes of published and unpublished Canadian and American women's diaries and correspondence from Colonial times through 1950.

Collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.

Note: For access on campus or off campus, user is currently required to log in through UNC authentication screen.

Documents the international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain’s New World colonies and the United States, providing important primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade. Also includes a series of letters received by the Attorney General on law and order in nineteenth century America covering the slave trade, general slavery matters including runaway slaves and rights of slaves, and other legal issues.

Seen through women’s eyes, nineteenth century southern social history takes on new dimensions. Subjects that were of only passing interest when historians depended on documents created by men now move to center stage. Women’s letters dwell heavily on illness, pregnancy, and childbirth. From them we can learn what it is like to live in a society in which very few diseases are well understood, in which death is common in all age groups, and where infant mortality is an accepted fact of life. The years of the Civil War are particularly well documented since many women were convinced that they were living through momentous historical events of which they should make a record.

Women's travel diaries and correspondence from the Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University, 1835-1976.

A collection of primary sources documenting popular culture in the second half of the 19th century and in the early 20th century, primarily in Great Britain but also in the United States. The four modules of this collection are: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema.

Since 1933, the Victorian Bibliography has listed noteworthy publications (including articles, books, and reviews) that have a bearing on the Victorian period.

Online database of digitized historical newspapers covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Focus is on Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, and South Asia. Covers 19th and 20th centuries, and includes some of these regions’ largest and most important newspapers.

Primary source materials on over 200 World's fairs, from the Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations at the Crystal Palace in London (1851) through the 20th century, focusing on Northern European, North American, Australian and East Asian expositions.

This collection focuses on race relations across social, political, cultural, and religious arenas; coverage is predominantly in Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina. It includes pamphlets, periodicals, correspondence, official records and oral histories regarding integration, civil rights, and other subjects.

This collection covers the many facets of American involvement in World War Two, from 1939-1949. American military and civilian involvement in all major theatres of operations is represented, and include oral history video interviews, personal letters, diaries, photographs, and military records.

Primary source collection from The National Archives, UK for the study of the apartheid, South African politics, trade relations, international opinion and humanitarian issues. Includes diplomatic dispatches, institutional records, biographies of prominent personalities, press reports, correspondence, books, maps, statistics, reports, analyses, and ephemera.

Primary source collection (16th century to 2014) for LGBTQIA+, gender, and sexuality studies, sourced from American, Australian, British, Canadian, and South African Archives. Consists of three series: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 (1940-2014); Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; and International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture (20th century).

Offers all levels of researchers the opportunity to study the best-known events of the Black Freedom Struggle alongside its most unheralded events. Perspectives include those of the men, women, and sometimes even children, involved in one of the most complicated and consequential movements in American history.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America, and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism and the nuclear bomb. The bulk of the material covers the late nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth century.

Contains a comprehensive set of declassified government documents and is a strong complement to the Declassified Documents Reference System. Includes collections of important primary source materials relative to U.S. foreign policy since 1945, accompanied by reference and secondary material.

Documents on British Policy Overseas contains three primary source collections from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office: British Documents on the Origins of War (1898-1914), Documents on British Foreign Policy (1918-1939), and Documents on British Policy Overseas (1946-present).

Everyday Life and Women in America, c.1800-1920 comprises thousands of fully searchable images of rare books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. Material is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasising contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Showcases a wealth of primary source material for the study of the Great War, complemented by a range of contextual secondary features. The three available modules are: Personal Experiences, Propaganda & Recruitment, and Visual Perspectives and Narratives.

Collection of files from Great Britain's Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) and Dominions Office focusing on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, as well as frontier regions such as Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and Kashmir.

British Government documents dealing with Japan in the interwar period, during Word War II and during subsequent American occupation. Sourced from the FO 371 and FO 262 series at The National Archives, UK, in addition to a selection of FO 371 Far Eastern General sub-series, and Western and American Department papers.

Collection of files from Great Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office providing in-depth analyses, annual reviews, ministerial minutes, personality profiles and correspondence regarding conflicts, arms sales and the UK's commercial interest in the Middle East.

Primary source materials on gender history from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia from the 19th to the 21st century. Includes feminist pamphlets and ephemera, diaries and correspondence, business and legal records, advice literature and etiquette books, photographs, and ephemera.

A primary source collection dealing with the evolution of European and American working class tourism between 1850 and 1980s. Includes guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals that provide insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.

Primary sources on the social history of 19th century London, sourced from Lilly Library, Indiana University.

Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963 provides complete coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) and memoranda of Harold Macmillan’s government, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees.

Access market research reports and supporting documents for mid-20th century U.S. by consumer analyst Ernest Dichter.

Archive of Mass Observation, the pioneering social research organization that studied the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain from 1937 to 1950s. Archive includes materials collected by investigators (thematic studies through raw data, surveys, and covert observation) and materials submitted by volunteers (diaries and other personal writing).

The Mass Observation Project, coordinated by the University of Sussex since 1981, is a national life writing project about everyday life in Britain that captures the experiences, thoughts and opinions of everyday people, and serves as one of the major repositories of longitudinal qualitative social data in the UK.

Index of over 1,000 volumes of published and unpublished Canadian and American women's diaries and correspondence from Colonial times through 1950.

National record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. Now provides links for the biographee to the Bibliography of British & Irish History, the National Portrait Gallery, the National Archives, Who Was Who, etc.

Primary sources on social protest, student activism, counterculture, and women's liberation against the backdrop of the civil rights movement, the Vietnam conflict and the growth of the consumer society.

The Race Relations Department, based at Fisk University, was a highly influential think tank offering a forum for discussion and research on racial topics. The work of the Department highlighted topics such as poverty and inequality, class, housing, employment, education and government policy. Its program attracted many well-known figures in the Civil Rights Movement, including Thurgood Marshall, Martin Luther King Jr., Bayard Rustin, Charles Houston, and Marguerite Cartwright.

This resource sheds light on the fascinating work of the Department through the digitization of extensive records from the Department's archives, now held at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans.

This collection contains both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theaters around the world. Publications are included from the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East. Both Allied and Axis publications are presented, offering a broad view of the war and the experiences of those on its front lines.

Women's travel diaries and correspondence from the Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University, 1835-1976.

A finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives and original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories.

Primary source materials on over 200 World's fairs, from the Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations at the Crystal Palace in London (1851) through the 20th century, focusing on Northern European, North American, Australian and East Asian expositions.