Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
ROML/JWST 70: Jewish Spain: History and Culture Across the Hispanic World: Books
Reference Titles
Encyclopaedia Judaica by
Includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
ISBN: 9780028660974Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Routledge Encyclopedias of the Middle Ages by
As the first comprehensive reference to the vital world of medieval Spain, this unique volume focuses on the Iberian kingdoms from the fall of the Roman Empire to the aftermath of the Reconquista. The nearly 1,000 signed A-Z entries, written by renowned specialists in the field, encompass topics of key relevance to medieval Iberia, including people, events, works, and institutions, as well as interdisciplinary coverage of literature, language, history, arts, folklore, religion, and science. Also providing in-depth discussions of the rich contributions of Muslim and Jewish cultures, and offering useful insights into their interactions with Catholic Spain, this comprehensive work is an invaluable tool for students, scholars, and general readers alike. For a full list of entries and contributors, a generous selection of sample entries, and more, visit the MedievalIberia: An Encyclopediawebsite.
ISBN: 9780203953648Publication Date: 2013-12-04
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. With more than 200 entries written by a team of international contributors, this Encyclopedia successfully covers the popular to the esoteric. The Encyclopedianbsp;is an invaluable reference resource for those studying Latin American and/or Caribbean literature as well as being of huge interest to those folowing Spanish or Portuguese language courses.
ISBN: 0415306868Publication Date: 2004-03-25
Jewish Writers of Latin America by
First published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
ISBN: 0815314957Publication Date: 1997-03-01
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Annotated bibliographies on many subjects. Relevant entries include Jews and Judaism in Medieval Europe. Hebrew Poetry in Spain, Latin American Jewish Studies and Jewish Presence in Latin America among others.
UNC Catalog Search with Links
Finding Books
Subject searching for books in the Library's catalog is often best done by beginning with a Keyword Search (sometimes termed All Fields"). Start with a Keyword Search and identify one or more relevant books. Then look at the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) given in the Full Records of those titles. You can follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find similar books, or you can use the terms in the subject headings to revise your search strategies.
Sephardim -- Intellectual life
Judaism -- History -- Medieval and early modern period, 425-1789
Jews -- Spain -- History -- 20th century. (substitute the century of interest)
Jews -- Latin America -- History -- 20th century
Jews -- Latin America -- History -- 21st century
Jews -- Caribbean Area -- History -- 20th century
Jews -- Latin America -- Intellectual life
Jewish literature -- Latin America -- History and criticism
*Note, works of fiction do not typically have a subject heading. The best way to find a work of fiction is by AUTHOR or TITLE.
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
Source: Wayne State University Libraries Instruction. “Keyword vs. Subject Searching.”
Databases have different interfaces and use different subject terms, but most provide both keyword and subject searching. Let's take a closer look at the differences between these two search options.
| Keyword | Subject | |
|---|---|---|
| Language | Natural language. A good way to start your search. | Predefined controlled vocabulary usually found in the database's thesaurus. |
| Flexibility | More flexible. You can combine terms in any number of ways. | Less flexible. You must know the exact controlled vocabulary term or phrase. |
| Fields Searched | Database looks for keywords anywhere in the record (title, author name, subject headings, etc.) | Database looks for subjects only in the subject heading or descriptor field, where the most relevant words appear. |
| Relevancy | Often yield many irrelevant results. | Results are usually very relevant to the topicSource: Wayne State University Libraries Instruction. “Keyword vs. Subject Searching.” |
Selected Titles
Jews and Judaism in the Middle Ages by
Although Jews constituted the largest minority in medieval Europe, they tend to be largely ignored in general studies of the Middle Ages, with the result that their history and culture are both overlooked and misunderstood. Jews and Judaism in the Middle Ages attempts to correct that situation by presenting, in clear and accessible language, an introduction to Jewish thought as well as to medieval Jewish history and texts. This volume examines the everyday life of medieval Jews in both Christian and Muslim environments, looks at the causes of medieval anti-Semititism and anti-Judaism, and includes a brief history of the persecutions to which medieval Jews were subjected. Despite popular opinion today, medieval Jewish life consisted of far more than persecution and suffering, and the volume examines Jewish accomplishments in the fields of biblical commentary, literature, philosophy, and mysticism, demonstrating that Jewish life, while often difficult, also had its creative and glorious side. Because the Talmud was the most important Jewish text throughout the Middle Ages, this volume introduces readers to the intricacies of that long and involved work, which helped to shape medieval Christianity.
ISBN: 9780275985882Publication Date: 2007-12-30
Jewish Life in Medieval Spain by
Jewish Life in Medieval Spain is a detailed exploration of the Jewish experience in medieval Spain from the dawn of Sephardic society in the ninth century to the expulsion of 1492. An important contribution of the book is the integration of the rise and fall of Jewish life in Muslim al-Andalus into the history of the Jews in medieval Christian Spain. It traces the collapse of Jewish life in Muslim Spain, the emigration of Andalusi Jewry to the lands of Christian Iberia, and the long and difficult confluence of these two distinct Jewish subcultures. Focusing on internal developments of Jewish society, it offers a narrative of Jewish history from the inside out, bringing to light the various divisions and rivalries within the Jewish community. This approach, in turn, allows for a deeper understanding of the complex relations between Spanish Jews and their Muslim and Christian neighbors. Jonathan Ray's original perspective on the Jewish experience is particularly instructive when considering the widescale anti-Jewish riots of 1391. The combination of violence and mass conversion of the Jews irrevocably shifted the dynamics of inter-religious relations as well as those within the Jewish community itself. Yet even in the wake of these tragic events, the Jews of Spain continued to flourish, fostering a culture that they would carry into exile and that would preserve the memory of Jewish Spain for centuries to come.
ISBN: 9781512823844Publication Date: 2023-03-28
Sephardim by
Here, in a single volume, is the first comprehensive history in English of the Sephardim--descendants of the Jews expelled from Spain in 1492. Paloma Díaz-Mas recounts the journey and customs of this fascinating group as they moved across the globe. They settled initially in Mediterranean Europe, the Low Countries, North Africa, and the Turkish Empire, but in the nineteenth century, a second diaspora brought the Sephardim to the United States, South America, Israel, and Western Europe. She traces the origins and survival of their unique language and explores the literature they produced. Their relationship to Spain is also uncovered, as well as their everyday lives. Sephardim is an authoritative and completely accessible investigation of the history and legacy of this amazing people.
ISBN: 9780226144849Publication Date: 2007-09-15
Exiles in Sepharad by
The dramatic one-thousand-year history of Jews in Spain comes to life in Exiles in Sepharad. Jeffrey Gorsky vividly relates this colorful period of Jewish history, from the era when Jewish culture was at its height in Muslim Spain to the horrors of the Inquisition and the Expulsion. Twenty percent of Jews today are descended from Sephardic Jews, who created significant works in religion, literature, science, and philosophy. They flourished under both Muslim and Christian rule, enjoying prosperity and power unsurpassed in Europe. Their cultural contributions include important poets; the great Jewish philosopher Moses Maimonides; and Moses de Leon, author of the Zohar, the core text of the Kabbalah. But these Jews also endured considerable hardship. Fundamentalist Islamic tribes drove them from Muslim to Christian Spain. In 1391 thousands were killed and more than a third were forced to convert by anti-Jewish rioters. A century later the Spanish Inquisition began, accusing thousands of these converts of heresy. By the end of the fifteenth century Jews had been expelled from Spain and forcibly converted in Portugal and Navarre. After almost a millennium of harmonious existence, what had been the most populous and prosperous Jewish community in Europe ceased to exist on the Iberian Peninsula.
ISBN: 9780827612419Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Returning to Babel by
This volume offers a re-examination of some of the prevalent paradigms in Latin American Jewish Studies and an instigation to further explorations in this area. It sets out from an interdisciplinary standpoint, comprising literature, culture, history, cinematography, music and visual arts. This collection of articles seeks a wider range of theoretical and disciplinary perspectives concerning Latin American Jewish experiences, and thereby offers a framework for innovative as well as traditional modes of analysis. It elaborates on themes of Jewish identity as represented in the history, cultures and societies of Latin America in the current era of hybridism and transnationalism.
ISBN: 9789004203952Publication Date: 2011-10-14
Sephardi Lives by
"A gem of a book. . . . Indeed, the work has the potential to transform the teaching and understanding of modern Jewish history." --Diana Matza, H-NetThis ground-breaking documentary history contains over 150 primary sources originally written in 15 languages by or about Sephardi Jews--descendants of Jews who fled medieval Spain and Portugal settling in the western portions of the Ottoman Empire, including the Balkans, Anatolia, and Palestine. Reflecting Sephardi history in all its diversity, from the courtyard to the courthouse, spheres intimate, political, commercial, familial, and religious, these documents show life within these distinctive Jewish communities as well as between Jews, Muslims, and Christians. Sephardi Lives offer readers an intimate view of how Sephardim experienced the major regional and world events of the modern era--natural disasters, violence and wars, the transition from empire to nation-states, and the Holocaust. This collection also provides a vivid exploration of the day-to-day lives of Sephardi women, men, boys, and girls in the Judeo-Spanish heartland of the Ottoman Balkans and Middle East, as well as the émigré centers Sephardim settled throughout the twentieth century, including North and South America, Africa, Asia, and Europe. The selections are of a vast range, including private letters from family collections, rabbinical writings, documents of state, memoirs and diaries, court records, selections from the popular press, and scholarship. In a single volume, Sephardi Lives preserves the cultural richness and historical complexity of a Sephardi world that is no more.Winner of the National Jewish Book Award for Sephardic CultureHonorable Mention for the Judaica Reference Award of the Association of Jewish Libraries"Rich and heterogeneous. . . . an outstanding endeavor." --Randall C. Belinfante, Jewish Book Council
ISBN: 9780804791915Publication Date: 2014-08-01
Evolving Images by
Jews have always played an important role in the generation of culture in Latin America, despite their relatively small numbers in the overall population. In the early days of cinema, they served as directors, producers, screenwriters, composers, and broadcasters. As Latin American societies became more religiously open in the later twentieth century, Jewish characters and themes began appearing in Latin American films and eventually achieved full inclusion. Landmark films by Jewish directors in Argentina, Mexico, and Brazil, which are home to the largest and most influential Jewish communities in Latin America, have enjoyed critical and popular acclaim. Evolving Images is the first volume devoted to Jewish Latin American cinema, with fifteen critical essays by leading scholars from Latin America, the United States, Europe, and Israel. The contributors address transnational and transcultural issues of Jewish life in Latin America, such as assimilation, integration, identity, and other aspects of life in the Diaspora. Their discussions of films with Jewish themes and characters show the rich diversity of Jewish cultures in Latin America, as well as how Jews, both real and fictional, interact among themselves and with other groups, raising the question of how much their ethnicity may be adulterated when adopting a combined identity as Jewish and Latin American. The book closes with a groundbreaking section on the affinities between Jewish themes in Hollywood and Latin American films, as well as a comprehensive filmography.
ISBN: 9781477314715Publication Date: 2018-01-03
Jews and Jewish Identities in Latin America by
This collection of articles constitutes a major contribution to the growing field of Latin American Jewish studies, offering different perspectives on the rich and complex phenomena in the social, political, and cultural development of Jewish communities in the area. The essays span across a wide range of subjects, from comparisons between Jewish communities from different countries and with different levels of assimilation, the effects of globalization and transnationalism on the field, the interactions between Jews and non-Jews in the area, all the way to literary criticism. Based on an international conference organized by the University of Sao Paulo, the Dahan Center of Bar Ilan University, and the Academic College in Ashkelon, this volume offers a new approach to Latin American Jewish studies: it contributes to demystifying stereotypes and raising awareness of the importance of Latin America in a global context, and it highlights the relevance of the different Jewish communities across the globe in their special relationship to the state of Israel.
ISBN: 9781618116482Publication Date: 2017-10-31
The New Ethnic Studies in Latin America by
The New Ethnic Studies in Latin America aims at going beyond and against much of Jewish Latin American historiography, situating Jewish-Latin Americans in the larger multi-ethnic context of their countries. Senior and junior scholars from various countries joined together to challenge commonly held assumptions, accepted ideas, and stable categories about ethnicity in Latin America in general and Jewish experiences on this continent in particular. This volume brings to the discussions on Jewish life in Latin America less heard voices of women, non-affiliated Jews, and intellectuals. Community institutions are not at center stage, conflicts and tensions are brought to the fore, and a multitude of voices pushes aside images of homogeneity. Authors in this tome look at Jews' multiple homelands: their country of birth, their country of residence, and their imagined homeland of Zion.
ISBN: 9789004342293Publication Date: 2017-03-09
Expand Your Search
On the left sidebar of the online catalog, you will find the option to search for resources within the UNC, Duke, and NC State libraries.
Books Beyond Carolina
Triangle Research Libraries Network
A searchable catalog of the holdings of Duke, UNC-CH, NCCU, NCSU libraries.
A searchable electronic union catalog listing more than 40 million records owned by libraries around the world.
Locates needed materials in other libraries, borrows books and microform and obtains photocopied material on behalf of eligible UNC users.
Digital Collections
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 8,000,000 fully accessible public domain eBooks.