Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

ROML/JWST 70: Jewish Spain: History and Culture Across the Hispanic World: Articles

Related Journals (UNC Subscription)

Journal of Modern Jewish Studies

Nashim: A Journal of Jewish Women's Studies and Gender Issues

AJS Review (Association of Jewish Studies)

The Journal of Jewish Studies

Latin American Jewish Studies

Journal of Medieval Iberian Studies

Sephardic Horizons

Open Access Journals

Melilah: Manchester Journal of Jewish Studies

Melilah is an interdisciplinary Open Access journal available in both electronic and printed form and concerned with Jewish law, history, literature, religion, culture and thought in the ancient, medieval and modern eras.

Women in Judaism: a multidisciplinary e-journal

WOMEN IN JUDAISM: A MULTIDISCIPLINARY e-JOURNAL is an academic, refereed journal published exclusively on the Internet, and devoted to scholarly debate on gender-related issues in Judaism. The ultimate aim of the journal is to promote the reconceptualization of the study of Judaism, by acknowledging and incorporating the roles played by women, and by encouraging the development of alternative research paradigms. Cross-methodological and interdisciplinary, the journal does not promote a fixed ideology, and welcomes a variety of approaches.

Metatron (open-access journal)

An open-access, peer-reviewed journal of modern philology and the ancient imagination offering new vistas on the cultures of the ancient Mediterranean and Near East. Named after the mediating angel of Jewish mysticism, it is designed to open cutting-edge research to a broad intellectual community.

Sources: A Journal of Jewish Ideas

Sources: A Journal of Jewish Ideas is a quarterly print and digital journal of longform essays that promote informed conversations and thoughtful disagreement.

HAMSA

Since 2014, the Centro Interdisciplinar de História Culturas e Sociedades da Universidade de Évora (CIDEHUS) has been publishing the multidisciplinary journal Hamsa, dedicated to humanities studies on Judaism and Islam in the Iberian Peninsula and in the context of diasporas.

Specialized Databases

Index to Jewish Periodicals
Index to Jewish Periodicals provides links to articles that focus on the study of Jewish affairs and Judaism around the world, including Jewish culture, history, literature, religion.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1988-present
RAMBI : Index of articles on Jewish studies
RAMBI is a selective list of scholarly articles published in journals and as part of collections of articles covering Jewish studies and Israel, based largely on the collections of the National Library of Israel.
Access: No restrictions.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Language: Various
MLA International Bibliography
A major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1884-present
Language: Various
Gale Literature Resource Center
Offers a wealth of critical and biographical information about more than 120,000 authors from the Classical period to the present. It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, thousands of plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, over 100,000 author biographies, several thousand author portraits, and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Coverage: Classical Period to Present
HAPI, Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Currently indexes over 380 journals and includes the contents of over 675 journals dating back to our start in the 1970s. Approximately 80% of currently indexed titles include links to full text sources - and many of those are freely available through open access policies.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1970-present
Latin America & Iberia Database
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Art and Architecture Complete
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of over 370 periodicals and more than 220 books in the literature of art and art history, interior and landscape design, antiques, and more. In addition, it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, over 220 books, and features an Image Collection of over 63,000 images. (This database is included in Art Source.)
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1937-present
Language: Various
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus
Created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), the database indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Types of Periodicals

	Scholarly Journals	Professional Trade Journals	Newsstand Magazines
Audience	Researchers and experts	Members of the Trade/Profession	General Public
Authors	Researchers and experts	Staff writers and members of the profession	Staff writers, articles often written by groups, sometimes corporations
Bibliography	Always. Plus footnotes or endnotes; suggested resources for more information	Sometimes a brief bibliography, variable by profession, no footnotes or endnotes	Almost never
Publisher	Publishers of scholary journals, a university press, or a professional association	Typically associations or commercial groups	Typically commercial
Language	Formal or semiformal scholarly language; may use jargon or technical terms that assum expertise in the field	Informal; may use technical or specialized jargon	Informal; written at or below the reading level of average high school students
Content	Research reports and commentary	Trends, new technologies, workplace standards in the field	General interest and news
Purpose	To disseminate findings from original research or experiments	To advance profession by covering issues and topics in the field	To inform and entertain
Reliability	Good - the articles undergo blind reviews by other scholars	Average - articles undergo reviews, but articles are sometimes biased to support industry/vendors	Average to Fair - deadlines mean content review is limited, stories sometimes come from "third parties" where review is very difficult

General Databases with Relevant Content

Academic Search Premier
Find information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Indexing, 1975-present; Full-text, 1975-present
Google Scholar
Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
JSTOR
Provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies. Excludes most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Project Muse
Provides access to important university press and other scholarly publisher e-journals mainly in the humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies
Proquest Central
A general reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Language: Various
WorldCat
OCLC's WorldCat is the world's largest union catalog containing of millions bibliographic records for items in the collections of thousands of libraries from many countries. This database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries in several hundred languages.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Before 1000 B.C. - present