Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
HIST 398.006: The Great Depression in America: Other Library Resources
Historical Newspapers and Periodicals
-
ProQuest Historical NewspapersSearch hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.
-
Archive of AmericanaA rich collection of primary source materials for in-depth study of the history of the United States. Component parts include: America’s Historical Imprints, Afro-Americana Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1535-1922, America's Historical Newspapers, African American NewspapersSeries 1, 1827-1998, Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876, and African American Periodicals 1825-1995.
-
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection offers researchers valuable primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more. Users can compare and contrast African American views on practically every major theme of the American past.
-
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project," a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos, this digital resource is the first in a new American Ethnic Newspapers series, available within America's Historical Newspapers.
-
African American Periodicals 1825-1995Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres. Similar to African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, this new collection is based upon James P. Danky's monumental African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998).
-
Indigenous Newspapers in North America"Indigenous Newspapers in North America" - Offers the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
-
Women's Magazine ArchiveFull-text archive of scanned color cover-to-cover reproductions of Redbook, Better Homes & Gardens, Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Chatelaine, Redbook, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Seventeen, Town & Country, Women's Day and Women’s International Network News which serve as records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores.
-
The CrisisThe Crisis, founded by W.E.B. Du Bois as the official publication of the NAACP, is a journal of civil rights, history, politics, and culture and seeks to educate and challenge its readers about issues that continue to plague African Americans and other communities of color. For nearly 100 years, The Crisis has been the magazine of opinion and thought leaders, decision makers, peacemakers and justice seekers. It has chronicled, informed, educated, entertained and, in many instances, set the economic, political and social agenda for our nation and its multi-ethnic citizens. Google Books provides issues to browse from 1910 to the 2000s
Digital Archives and Other Databases
-
DigitalNCThe online home for materials presented by the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center. It includes yearbooks from NC colleges and universities, NC newspapers, NC city directories, photos from NC and other historical materials about North Carolina.
-
ProQuest History VaultProvides access to historical documents of the history of the American South and African American History. This collection is organized into two main groups; Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle AND Southern Life and Slavery.
-
Black Thought and CultureA landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major black leaders in North America. Works by teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures form the corpus. Unlike their white counterparts, black leaders have had to wrestle with the issues of their race alongside the issues of leadership in their chosen professions. They have been forced to defend positions, justify actions, correct perceptions, protest injustice, celebrate cultural achievement, and confront the agenda of a white-dominated society.
-
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984Between the early 1920s and early 1980s, the Justice Department and its Federal Bureau of Investigation engaged in widespread investigation of those deemed politically suspect. Black Americans of all political persuasions were subject to federal scrutiny, harassment and prosecution. The FBI enlisted black 'confidential special informants' to infiltrate a variety of organizations. Hundreds of documents in this collection were originated by such operatives. The reports provide a wealth of detail on 'Negro' radicals and their organizations that can be found nowhere else.
-
African American CommunitiesThis collection focuses on race relations across social, political, cultural, and religious arenas; coverage is predominantly in Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina. It includes pamphlets, periodicals, correspondence, official records and oral histories regarding integration, civil rights, and other subjects.
-
Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations, 1933-1945Archival material from the FDR Library in Hyde Park, NY, for the study of the early development of the Civil Rights Movement. The collection material concerns the issues of lynching, segregation, race riots, and employment discrimination.
-
Gale Archives UnboundGale Archives Unbound is a suite of collections, each devoted to a particular topic, from the Middle Ages to the twentieth century. The collections include primary, unpublished historical documents and draw from institutional sources, governmental sources, and private collections.
-
American History: 1860-1945: Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945This collection includes letters, diaries and documents from the Civil War, alongside images, newspapers, and magazines from the war. It also includes presidential correspondence, and documents on the rise of industrial America, the Ku Klux Klan, and World War II.
-
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954Based on original manuscript collections from the holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. Covers a wide range of dates and topics related to Jewish history in the US, from Early Jewish Settlements in the US through the Civil Rights Movement of the mid-20th Century.
-
Women & Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000Database of women's activism in American public life from 1600-2000, including published histories, records of women's organizations, books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.
-
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965Access market research reports and supporting documents for mid-20th century U.S. by consumer analyst Ernest Dichter.
-
Trade Catalogues and the American HomeA collection of trade catalogues, cards and marketing ephemera tracing the rise of the ‘American dream’ and evolution of commerce throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries (1850-1950). The content is sourced from three collections of trade literature in America: the Lawrence B. Romaine collection at UC Santa Barbara, the Hagley Museum and Library and the Winterthur Library.
Web Resources
- American Life Histories: Manuscripts from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1940: Library of Congress
Transcriptions of interviews conducted by the Federal Writers' Project with persons living between 1936-1940.
- The Great Depression Primary Source Sets: Library of Congress
Primary source documents from the Library of Congress covering the Dust Bowl Migration and the New Deal.
- The Great Depression and World War II (1929-1945): National Archives
Digital collection of the National Archives, covering the Great Depression and WWII.
- Voices from the Dust Bowl: the Charles L. Todd and Robert Sonkin Migrant Worker Collection, 1940 to 1941: Library of Congress
Selected digitized photos that depict the life of migrant farm workers living and working on Farm Security Administration camps in central California.
- WPA Posters: Library of Congress Digitized collection of nearly 1,000 posters from the WPA (1936-1943).The Living New DealA national database of information, documents, photographs, and personal stories about the public works made possible by the New Deal. And it is all just a click away on our national map of New Deal sites.Photogrammar: Explore Great Depression PhotosWeb-based platform for organizing, searching, and visualizing the 170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI) and held by the Library of Congress. Although the photos are available in numerous places, these tools make it easier to explore them.
Stats, Gov Docs, etc.
-
CQ Voting and Elections CollectionProvides detailed voting data for the study of American politics, both past and present. Presidential, Senatorial, Congressional, and Gubernatorial candidates are covered, as are campaigns and elections, political parties, and voters and demographics.
-
ProQuest CongressionalComprehensive source of current and historical U.S. Congressional material, including bills, testimony, reports, documents, selected prints, the Congressional Record, the U.S. Code, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.
-
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources II, 1763-1970Designed to complement The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, this archive offers online access to state and municipal codes, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other resources in American legal history. Its material is drawn from the Harvard Law School Library, the Yale Law Library, and the Law Library of Congress.
-
ACLU American Civil Liberties Union Papers 1912-1990For most of the twentieth century the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) was the principal defender of the rights that citizens can assert against government. Its primary aims have been the defense of the freedoms of speech and press, the separation of church and state, the free exercise of religion, due process of law, equal protection of the law, and the privacy rights of all citizens. The ACLU files cover numerous topics including: the first “Red Scare” following the Russian Revolution of 1917; debates in the 1920s on immigration; the American Birth Control League; lynchings in the 1930s; debates on aliens and immigrants in the years immediately preceding the U.S. entry into the Second World War; and the ACLU’s involvement in two of the mid-century’s most important issues: the Vietnam War and the Civil Rights movement.
-
Roper Center's iPollOffers extensive database of opinion poll datasets. Roper’s iPOLL allows searching at the question level. The Center archives national opinion polls back to 1935, both U.S. and some international polls. Holdings include survey results data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, ABC, CBS, Wall Street Journal and many more. Many datasets are available for instant download in ASCII or SPSS format. Datasets not available for immediate download may be requested from the Center to be queued for digitization.
NOTE: First time users to NEW Roper iPoll need to self-register for access at login. Your credentials from Classic iPOLL will NOT work without new registration as of 8/14/2020. Classic iPOLL will no longer be updated after Sept 1, 2020. -
Social ExplorerProvides web-based access to United States Census data from 1790 to the present, and to other U.S. and international data, with the ability to make tables and interactive maps easily or export data for analysis. Data include the most commonly used variables and geographies.
Adam Matthew Products
Adam Matthew is an academic publisher of primary source material. The digital collections found here are presented in a similar fashion, allowing you to search for items based on keywords but also providing several options for browsing. Additionally, if you find a subset of the collection that has material relevant to your topic, you can restrict your search to a particular module, theme, or archival collection. Overall, this is a good option for gaining familiarity with digitized archival material.
-
You can cross-search all of their digital collections through AM Explorer
-
You can find a full list of all Adam Matthew Products to which we subscribe in the guide linked below
ProQuest History Vault
-
ProQuest History VaultProvides access to historical documents of the history of the American South and African American History. This collection is organized into two main groups; Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle AND Southern Life and Slavery.
About HistoryVault
- You can cross search the various modules through their Advanced Search
- You can read more detailed descriptions of the various modules here.
Gale Archives Unbound
Gale Archives Unbound offers an array of subject-specific resources primarily derived from microfilm, tailored to scholars conducting academic research. Particular strengths in the Archive Unbound program include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; and global affairs. In this guide, you'll find detailed lists of sub-collections belonging to various subject headings Gale has assigned to their databases. Each sub-collection listed includes a description of the contents and a link to directly access the sub-collection from on or off campus.
For More Help...
- Finding Primary Source Materials
by Amy Fader
-
Library Data Services cater to researchers interested in working with data, mapping, texts, visualization, and technology. Many of these services are available online.
-
For more information on GovDocs, contact Angela Bardeen