AAAD 50: Defining Blackness: Newspapers & Magazines

Search hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.

Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres. Similar to African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, this new collection is based upon James P. Danky's monumental African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998).

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690 to the 1920s, provides access to hundreds of thousands of newspaper issues from about 2000 newspapers from Colonial America to the Roaring Twenties. The papers were published in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Contains the full text of important American newspapers from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. They include the Pennsylvania Gazette from 1728 to 1800, which was the leading English-language newspaper of the continent. The Civil War segment has the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and The Richmond Enquirer. The third major segment of the database contains twelve million words from several of the major African-American newspapers of the nineteenth century. The fourth segment is Godey's Lady's Book from 1830 to 1855, intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America.

Provides access to about 500 newspapers from localities all across the United States during the 19th Century. Also searchable from within Gale Artemis: Primary Sources.

Provides access to historic newspapers from the 1700s to the present. UNC users have access to a large selection of North Carolina newspapers through a partnership between Newspapers.com and the UNC University Library.

Note: Please clear your browser's cache and cookies if you are having problems accessing this resource

Contains over 1,000 journals published between 1740 and 1900.  American Periodicals From the Center for Research Libraries provides full text to nearly 400 journals.  The collection contains special interest and general magazines, labor and trade publications, scientific and literary journals, and photographic periodicals,. See "About" within the database for a fuller description.

Harper's Weekly was one of the most important serials of nineteenth-century America, because it provided detailed information about cultural, military, political, and social issues. Its illustrations helped readers visualize current events. Its editorials were a major force in shaping public opinion in the North. The three parts of HarpWeek, an indexed, full-text database of Harper's Weekly, provide searchable access to the events, people, and culture of the "Civil War Era, 1857-1865"; "Reconstruction I, 1866-1871"; and "Reconstruction II, 1872-1877."