HIST 398.003 Resistance in History: Newspapers & Magazines

Search hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.

A rich collection of primary source materials for in-depth study of the history of the United States. Component parts include: America’s Historical Imprints, Afro-Americana Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1535-1922, America's Historical Newspapers, African American NewspapersSeries 1, 1827-1998, Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876, and African American Periodicals 1825-1995.

Collection documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922. With >170 periodicals, annuals, and reports, its 60,000+ pages represent a centralized and accessible resource of formerly fragmentary, widely-dispersed and endangered materials—titles were collected from 75 institutions, including small institutions that had not previously participated in preservation projects.

American Indian Newspapers offers the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project," a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos, this digital resource is the first in a new American Ethnic Newspapers series, available within America's Historical Newspapers.

Digital archive (1785-2019) of the British daily national newspaper, also know as The London Times and The Times of London. Please note that online coverage of The Times after the end date in this archive is available in several sources. Click here for more details.

The Guardian and The Observer are two major newspapers from the United Kingdom, and offer additional perspective to that of the Times of London.

Alt-Press Watch provides full text access to alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, publications which bring perspectives, insights, and opinions not often found in mainstream journalism. This product offers over 600,000 articles from over 230 publications.

A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.

America's News is the most comprehensive U.S.newspaper resource available. It provides information on people, issues, and events in the local area or around the country. Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers - with 75% of these sources not available in any other library database.

971 anarcho-syndicalist periodicals, chiefly from Argentina, Mexico, Brazil, Uruguay, Chile, and Cuba, published primarily 1890-1920.

Documents 200 years of cultural, political, social and historical events. This database is also searchable via British Newspapers, 1600 - 1950, and also via Gale Artemis: Primary Sources.