Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
HIST 089.003: Environment in American History: Books & Articles
Finding Books
Start with a keyword search in the catalog. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the Subjects in the record and follow those links to find related books.
You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen. Use the "Available Online" filter to limit to materials that may be accessed remotely. Under "Resource Type" you can restrict your results to books, journals, or government documents.
Sample Subjects:
"Disaster relief -- Law and legislation -- United States"
"Environmental degradation -- Social aspects"
"Food sovereignty -- United States"
"Wildlife management -- Yellowstone National Park"
"Everglades (Fla.) -- Environmental conditions -- History"
"Polychlorinated biphenyls -- Environmental aspects -- Alabama -- Anniston"
You can also pair these with additional keywords or search those as subjects.
To find primary resources, you can add any of the following keywords to your search: letters, diaries, speeches, newspaper articles, autobiographies, oral histories, government and organizational records, statistical data, maps, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, advertisements, artifacts, etc.
Use the facets on the left side of the catalog to expand your search to Duke, NC State, and NCCU Libraries.
Finding Journals/Secondary Analysis
-
JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
-
Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
-
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
- Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics Also contains environmental impact statements
-
GreenFILE
- Multidisciplinary database of information on the human impact on the environment
- Scholarly, government, and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments
- Indexing and abstracts of an extensive number of records, as well as Open Access full text records
- Connections between the environment and the disciplines of agriculture, education, law, health and technology
- Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling
Note: Best used with Internet Explorer or Firefox.
Finding Primary Sources
-
ProQuest CongressionalComprehensive source of current and historical U.S. Congressional material, including bills, testimony, reports, documents, selected prints, the Congressional Record, the U.S. Code, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.
-
Environmental Issues OnlineEnvironmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival, primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. The comprehensive database is curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries, enabling students to build a critical understanding of the relationship between people and the environment. Reflecting the multidisciplinary nature of the field of Environmental Studies, content is drawn from discipline perspectives including: Anthropology, Diplomacy, Ecology, Economics, Geography, History, Law, Medicine, Politics & Policy, Sociology, and Photography.
-
America's NewsAmerica's News is the most comprehensive U.S.newspaper resource available. It provides information on people, issues, and events in the local area or around the country. Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers - with 75% of these sources not available in any other library database.
-
ProQuest Historical NewspapersSearch hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.
Reference Resources
-
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineProvides sophisticated online recommendations to the core scholarship on a subject as determined by experts in the field. Each module constitutes a convenient and comprehensive introduction to the essential body of literature that has shaped research on a topic. At the click of a mouse, you therefore have 24/7 access to expert recommendations that have been rigorously peer-reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity.
Each OBO subject database allows you to identify the core authors, works, ideas, and debates that have shaped the scholarly conversation so you can find the key literature. All the bibliographic essays have been peer-reviewed, and the specific entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library. The "My OBO" feature also allows you to create a personalized list of citations. -
CQ ResearcherThe CQ Researcher is the perfect answer for people beginning research on current topics. It covers the most current and controversial issues of the day. From Abortion to War, each issue gives you a comprehensive review of the controversies, historical background, chronology of important events, opposing views from experts on the subject, and extensive bibliographies for additional research.
Carolina BLU and Interlibrary Loan
ILL and Carolina BLU can help you get a copy of books or articles that we don't own, but it's also where you can place an item on hold or request a scan of an article not available online!
Subject Specific Databases
We have additional history specific databases, as well as hundreds of databases covering other fields.
-
UNC databases for HistoryA collection of databases that cover general history. (See E-Research by Discipline for specific areas of focus within History)
-
UNC databases for Environmental StudiesA collection of databases that cover Environmental Studies
-
E-Research by DisciplineSelect a subject area from this list to find the top resources for each discipline.
Finding News Stories
-
Finding News StoriesA research guide from UNC's Park Library on finding news stories online and on microfilm. The tabs for Historic News and International News may be useful.
For More Info...
-
National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994Provides unlimited access to the official journal of the National Geographic Society. Every article, photograph and map from every issue is available and searchable through an intuitive interface. (Source: vendor website)
-
Google Think Tank Search EngineSearches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
-
Environment CompleteJournals on topics including agriculture, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, urban planning, and more.