CMPL 473: Medieval Drama: Books & Articles
Finding Books
Start with a keyword search in the catalog. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the Subjects in the record and follow those links to find related books.
You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen. Use the "Available Online" filter to limit to materials that may be accessed remotely. Under "Resource Type" you can restrict your results to books, journals, or government documents.
Sample Subjects:
English drama -- To 1500 -- History and criticism
Theater -- England -- History -- Medieval, 500-1500
Christian drama, Latin (Medieval and modern)
Mysteries and miracle-plays, English
Search for books By a literary author as an Author search; search for books About a literary author as a Subject search.
- Author: Hrotsvitha, approximately 935-approximately 975
- Subject: Hrotsvitha, approximately 935-approximately 975
You can also pair these terms with additional keywords or search your keywords as subjects.
Use the facets on the left side of the catalog to expand your search to Duke, NC State, and NCCU Libraries. To expand your search even further, try searching WorldCat.
-
WorldCatOCLC's WorldCat is the world's largest union catalog containing of millions bibliographic records for items in the collections of thousands of libraries from many countries. This database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries in several hundred languages.
Finding Journals/Secondary Analysis
-
MLA International BibliographyA major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.
-
International Medieval Bibliography
The International Medieval Bibliography covers the European Middle Ages (c 450-1500) and indexes periodicals, books, essay collections, etc.
Note: Please click on the 'Enter Databases' link. Then select 'International Medieval Bibliography - Online'. -
Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
-
ProQuest One LiteratureIncludes and expands upon resources from ProQuest Literature Online (LION). Includes literary criticism as well as primary texts and reference works. Contains 3 million literature citations from a wide range of sources such as scholarly journals, monographs, and dissertations, along with more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. Features notable collections from Chadwyck-Healey, such as African American Poetry, American Drama, and English Poetry. Provides access to the ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) index of bibliographic citations for literary criticism.
-
JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Reference Resources
-
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineProvides sophisticated online recommendations to the core scholarship on a subject as determined by experts in the field. Each module constitutes a convenient and comprehensive introduction to the essential body of literature that has shaped research on a topic. At the click of a mouse, you therefore have 24/7 access to expert recommendations that have been rigorously peer-reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity.
Each OBO subject database allows you to identify the core authors, works, ideas, and debates that have shaped the scholarly conversation so you can find the key literature. All the bibliographic essays have been peer-reviewed, and the specific entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library. The "My OBO" feature also allows you to create a personalized list of citations. -
Brill's Medieval Reference Library OnlineProvides the full text of three print Brill encyclopedias - Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage (2009) , Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle (2010), Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450 (2012).
-
The Cambridge Companion to Medieval English Theatre
by
ISBN: 9781139001878Publication Date: 2011-11-28The drama of the English Middle Ages is perennially popular with students and theatre audiences alike, and this is an updated edition of a book which has established itself as a standard guide to the field. The Cambridge Companion to Medieval English Theatre, second edition continues to provide an authoritative introduction and an up-to-date, illustrated guide to the mystery cycles, morality drama and saints' plays which flourished from the late fourteenth to the mid-sixteenth centuries. The book emphasises regional diversity in the period and engages with the literary and particularly the theatrical values of the plays. Existing chapters have been revised and updated where necessary, and there are three entirely new chapters, including one on the cultural significance of early drama. A thoroughly revised reference section includes a guide to scholarship and criticism, an enlarged classified bibliography and a chronological table.
Carolina BLU and Interlibrary Loan
ILL and Carolina BLU can help you get a copy of books or articles that we don't own, but it's also where you can place an item on hold or request a scan of an article not available online!
Subject Specific Databases
The libraries provide access to hundreds of databases covering all subject areas.
-
UNC databases for English & Comparative LiteratureA collection of databases that cover ECL
-
UNC databases for Medieval & Early Modern StudiesA collection of databases that cover interdisciplinary Medieval & Early Modern Studies
-
E-Research by DisciplineSelect a subject area from this list to find the top resources for each discipline.
Searching Within a Journal
If you find a specific journal title that is relevant to your topic (such as the scholarly journal Medieval & Renaissance Drama in England), you can search for the title in our catalog. After clicking on the button for "Full text available via the UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries" button, it will take you to a screen similar to the one above where you can search inside the journal. More search functionality will be found within the database, but this search strategy is especially useful if years of coverage are across multiple databases.